Reviewing Life by Lara Brukz


Title: A Review Story: Reviewing Life
Author: Lara Brukz
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Pages: 135
Characters: Marshall Ellerbee, Kyle Young
POV: 3rd
Sub-Genre: Contemporary Romance, Series
Kisses: 4.5


Blurb:

Recovering alcoholic Marshall Ellerbee still grieves the loss of his best friend and lover, Eric. After a year of sobriety, Marshall accepts a new job with the Wellness Center, something else to help him continue cleaning up his life. Things are finally improving when his sponsor has a heart attack. The counselor hired to replace him is none other than Kyle Young, the lost ex’s best friend. Kyle has always hated Marshall, but now they must work together and move past their history. When Marshall saves Eric’s life, Kyle suddenly sees Marshall in a new light. But will romance unsettle Marshall’s hard-won new stability…

Review:

When I noticed that this was the second book in Ms. Brukz’s ‘Reviewing’ series, I was pretty excited to read it. I read and reviewed the first book, Five Star Review, and liked it. I must say, that I enjoyed this book more than the first book. I enjoyed reading about the characters and liked seeing how Eric’s (hero in the first book) life had progressed.

One of the strong points in the book was the journey Marshall goes through to live his life sober. When he drank, he hurt many people and must atone for his past behaviors. I liked Marshall and felt empathy toward him. I also liked Kyle, who is Marshall’s love interest. Kyle had ever right to doubt Marshall’s recovery and I thought the author did a good job at making these two men face their demons head on both individually and together.

What kept this from being a higher rating for me was how easily Eric forgave Marshall. I thought it was resolved little too easy, and had the impression that Eric is surely a saint because if his easy, forgiving nature. I thought this was a little too washed over and would have liked Eric to really confront Marshall more than he did. I know I would have.

All in all this is a good story. I think Ms. Brukz did a good job at giving this reader a couple of hours of escapism and I enjoyed it. Although this could be read as a stand-alone in the series, I do recommend reading ‘Five Star Review‘ before reading this one. This way you’ll really get to know Eric, Marshall and the journey both men go on as they recover from the consequences of Marshall’s alcoholism and how it changed their lives.

Reviewed By: Gabbi

BUY LINK

Leave a Reply

