Flying Colors by Clare London


Title: True Colors, Book 5: Flying Colors
Author: Clare London
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Pages: 256
Characters: Red De Vere, Carter Davison
POV: 3rd
Sub-Genre: Contemporary Romance, Series
Kisses: 5


Blurb:

Red De Vere appears to have everything—good looks, a prestigious job, attention from the paparazzi, and a choice of lovers. But one day he takes an outrageous step too far at a formal embassy dinner, and the press turns on him. Shocked, he realizes it’s time to find something better in life than partying. He envies the love that his friends Miles and Zeke have, and when he dares to consider that possibility for himself, his hopes and desires rest in his quiet, serious friend Carter Davison.

Carter loved a man who cheated on him, then died violently, and he refuses to make himself vulnerable again. He knows Red is interested; Red has been supportive and admiring since they met. And Carter’s honest enough to admit he’s attracted to Red. But Carter can also think of nothing worse than being the lover of someone in the public eye. Playboy Red must stay an attractive friend, that’s all.

While Red yearns for something real, Carter has some sweet, sexy secrets that might surprise even Red. If Carter dares emerge from his shell, and Red pursues a more rewarding path, romance could spark. Then there’s no telling what might happen.

Review:

It’s no secret that I’m totally in awe of the True Colors series by Clare London. I’ve read every book-multiple times- and every time I reread them, it always leaves me with a satisfied smile on my face.

Ever since the first book, True Colors, I’ve been waiting for Red and Carter’s story. At times, I wondered if I’d ever get to read how and if these two complex, sexy men would ever get together, but thankfully, Ms. London has finally taken this reader out of her misery! I was thrilled when I saw this one was finally released and in all honesty, equally thrilled with the story Red and Carter told.

The blurb does an excellent job at describing the story, so I won’t rehash a lot of it. Red and Carter has continued to have friendly dinner dates and although there is a fair amount of flirting, they’ve never passed the boundaries of getting physically intimate or becoming more than friends. Red, in particular, really feels something for Carter and wants to try to have something special with him. But, Carter has inner demons and guilt from his previous relationship that he must fight and conquer before he can go on with his life and possibly take a chance on having a relationship with Red.

What I liked about this book was how Ms. London did not sweep the issues both heroes have under the rug just so the two men could fall into a relationship together. Both Carter and Red must do some serious self-examination and change before they take the step of being together. I also liked how, no matter what, they’re friends…plus, they continue to open up and learn more and more about each other as the book continues. Sure, there were times I wanted Carter, in particular, to wake up and see what a wonderful thing he could have with Red, but let me say, once he did, I LOVED how they took that next step and took a chance on having something special with each other.

Although this is the fifth book in the series, you probably could read this book as a stand-alone, however, I do not recommend this. Carter and Red play a pretty big part in the first book, True Colors, and to really capture the essence of their relationship and how much personal growth they go through, I highly recommend reading the series in book order. In all honesty, this is one of my favorite series and I think once you read the first book, you’ll be hooked on it as much as I am.

I truly hope Ms. London continues writing about her men in her True Colors series. They’ve become heroes that I’ve really enjoyed getting to know and I’ve love witnessing them become the amazing men they are today.

Highly Recommended!

The True Colors series in book order are:

True Colors
Ambush
Payback
Switch
Flying Colors

Reviewed By: Gabbi

BUY LINK

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

