Stung by KA Merikan


Title: Stung
Author: KA Merikan
Publisher: Acerbi&Villani ltd
Pages: 127
Characters: Victor, Crunch
POV: 3rd
Sub-Genre: Zombies, Victorian, Romance, Series
Kisses: 5


Blurb:

— If you want honey, prepare to get stung. —

October 1907, Honeyhill
Twenty years into the zombie Plague

Victor is a man of delicate sensibilities, not fit to do backbreaking labour on a farm ran by the mob. Upon arrival in Honeyhill, he decides he needs an anchor, an alliance with one of the guards, if he wants to survive. That anchor comes in the form of Crunch, a hunky ex-sailor with a pair of tight leather trousers and a ruggedly handsome face.
But from day one, Victor knows he won’t last long with the hard physical work assigned to him and the torment he suffers at the hands of a sadistic guard. He needs to run, and his new alliance might prove to be a burden instead of solace.

If Crunch wants Honeyhill liberated, he needs to focus on his job, not on protecting Victor, one of many new arrivals on the farm. Distraction is the last thing he needs after months of undercover work. But it’s hard not to get seduced by Victor’s big brown eyes and fingertips that don’t know work. Hundreds of people depend on Crunch keeping his identity a secret, revealing it could be fatal for both him and Victor, and a failure of his mission.
Thankfully, Victor would never be dumb enough to try and escape through a forest that’s swarming with zombies. Would he?

“Stung” is a standalone book and a part of the “Zombie Gentlemen” universe.

Themes (may contain SPOILERS): zombies, prisoner/guard, beekeeping, gore, deception, undercover agent, captivity, romance, brutality, forced labour camp, murder, farm, torment, forbidden romance, Victorian

Erotic content: explicit m/m sexual scenes (including dubious consent)

Genre: dystopian homoerotic thriller

Review:

Stung is the latest book from the writing team of KA Merikan. I’ve read several books by these talented authors and I’ve enjoyed every one of them. KA Merikan’s books are quirky, sexy, unique and very creative. These two ladies never fail to give this reader many hours of pure reading enjoyment. When I received Stung to review, I admit I was pretty excited to read it. So much so, I ended up pushing aside some of my other books in my TBR mountain, just to check it out, and before I knew it, I had read the entire book from start to finish without any interruptions.

The blurb does an excellent job at describing the story, so I won’t rehash a lot of it. Instead, I thought I’d talk about why I liked this book and why I easily recommend it to those who enjoy these types of romances.

I’ve really enjoyed the world that these authors created. Living and trying to survive in the land of the undead is not an easy one. Since the plague, people have become accustomed to being cautious and taking steps to ensure their safety and survival from the undead.

Victor isn’t really one of these people. He’s a little spoiled, gorgeous and lives in a safe zone. He doesn’t really remember what life was like before the plague so it hasn’t affected him as it has others. This changes when he is forcefully taken away from his easy-going life and placed into a camp where others must do hard labor. For once in his life, Victor must find his inner strength and somehow survive the terrible conditions and the cruelty from the guards. As soon as he spots one of the guards, Crunch, he is shocked by the mutual attraction that sizzles between them. He instinctively knows that somehow getting under Crunch’s wing, he’ll be able to be more protected in more ways than one.

I honestly didn’t know if I would like this one. At first and throughout the setting itself reminded me of the concentration camps I’ve seen in pictures. This disturbed me, but because of the author’s ability to allow us to see what’s really going on in both Victor and Crunch’s heads as well as the sizzling chemistry the two men had together, allowed me to really see what the story itself was really about.

I’m read several of KA Merikan’s books and I realize before I start reading any book they’ve written that these two ladies like to push the envelope…both sexually and also with the story itself. This is one of the reasons why I enjoy reading their stories. They always give me something I haven’t read before and whether I feel comfortable or not, I always enjoy the ride they take me on.

If you like books that are creative, sexy and a little scary, Stung is a good choice for you. I ended up really loving this book and hated to see it come to an end. I HOPE they will continue writing more about Victor and Crunch one day. I’d love to see how they end up.

Highly Recommended!

Reviewed By: Gabbi

BUY LINK

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Stung is out! Unleash the bees! | K.A. Merikan

Leave a Reply

