Mell Eight

melleight_roadtorevenge

 

 

 

Thank you for taking some down time and spending it with us. Let’s start this off with a beverage. We have coffee, tea, some sort of juice (I think it’s been in here a few weeks) and soda. What would you like?

Thank you so much for letting me visit!  I’ll have tea, please. 

lemon-tea-ck-1065493-x

Can you tell us a little bit about yourself?

This is one of the hardest questions I’m ever asked.  How do I make myself sound interesting without also sounding self-absorbed?  I’m a twenty five year old woman who has been writing with LT3 since 2011.  I really enjoy writing and I hope to continue for a very long while. 

When you received news that your manuscript had been accepted what were the first words that fell from your mouth?

It was more a mass jumble of “oh my god,” “I can’t believe it,” and “squeeeeee!”  Not exactly my most graceful moment, but I was so happy. 

What forces brought you over to the MM Genre and what made you want to write it?

Why write about a handsome man if he’s only going be taken away by some other girl?  I want the only female in the lives of my handsome men to be me!  Plus, two handsome men are much yummier. 

Would you care for some cookies? We have chocolate chip, peanut butter, oatmeal with or without raisins and a package of mystery ones. We have cake too. Your choice.

Oatmeal raisin.  Yum! 

cookieplate-300x225

We ran out of the oatmeal, so these will do, yes? How many hours a day do you spending writing?

I usually spend anywhere from one to six hours a day writing, depending on how much free time I have.  Unfortunately, there are also days where I don’t have time for writing at all.  Those days aren’t fun. 

Do you write right through or do you revise as you go along?

I have to revise as I go along.  I go back and reread often, either from the beginning of the story or from the last section break.  It helps remind me of where I want the story to go so I don’t go off on a tangent I’ll just have to delete later.  Constant revising also helps me feel accomplished on days when writer’s block is trying to take hold.  A lot of the time writer’s block is mental, so feeling like I’ve done something good for my story, even if all I’ve done is fix a small grammar mistake, helps me fight against the insidious claws. 

When it comes to plotting, do you write freely or plan everything in advance?

It’s a mixture of both.  When I write a story there are always a few important scenes in my head that have to happen.  Usually there’s one in the beginning, one near the middle, and one at the end.  My goal is to tie all those scenes together in one coherent book.  Everything that is written around those scenes is free of preplanning. 

Of your characters do you have a favorite and why?

I think this question is like asking a mother about which of her children she prefers!  She loves them all, but there’s always the one she likes/understands a little better than the others.  For me, that’s Tori from Stealing the Dragon, book three of my Dragon’s Hoard Series.  He’s bouncy and bubbly and practically wrote himself.  There’s something sweet about my baby dragon.  I really love Tori. 

Writers often go on about writer’s block. Do you ever suffer from it, and what measures do you take to get past it?

Pardon me while I toss some salt over my shoulder to ward off evil.  Writer’s block happens and I hate it.  I’ve gone weeks without putting any words on a page before, which is not fun.  I’ve found there are a couple of ways to fight it off.  First, I have tried to power through it by writing anyway.  Usually whatever I write is awful and I end up deleting it, but sometimes just the act of writing itself is enough to free myself.  Another way is the one I already mentioned.  I go back and reread my story.  I fix spelling and grammar, which makes me feel accomplished and fights against the miasma writer’s block can impart.  Rereading has also sparked a new idea or a new direction to take my story.  The third way, and the best, is to walk away.  I’ve always found that when I’m fully immersed in another project that has absolutely nothing to do with writing, the best ideas start to percolate.  At the time I’m usually nowhere near my computer and I don’t have a journal, because karma works like that, but when I switch my brain around it reorganizes itself to fight off writer’s block on its own. 

Do you have a particular spot in your house that you call your comfy zone? (The place where you write.)

I have never been able to do any work at a physical desk, not homework or writing.  There are a lot of people who don’t understand why, but I just find it more comfortable to stay in bed all day.  Wrapped up in my cozy blankets with a warm pillow for back support and my computer in my lap is easily the best way to write. 

When you’re in the mindset to write, do you put a sign up that warns others not to disturb you while at work?

That would actually be a great idea!  Then people would stop bothering me when I’m writing. 

How would you describe your sense of humor? Who and what makes you laugh?

I prefer intellectual jokes.  Potty humor goes right over my head, but add a touch of someone’s brain to the jokes and I’ll never stop laughing. 

What is the most frequently asked Mell Eight question?

That’s easy: “More Tori, please?”  My readers love Tori as much as me and they all want to know when I’ll be writing more of him. 

What are you working on now?

As always, I can’t just work on one thing at a time.  I’m currently writing a short story compilation in my Dragon’s Hoard Series to give my readers more Tori.  I’m working on Road to Home, the sequel to Road to Revenge, which just came out this past July.  I also just started writing a fun story titled Kelpie Blue about horses and horse racing.

Writing is obviously not just how you make your living, but your life-style as well. What do you do to keep the creative “spark” alive – both in your work and out of it?

I keep my creative spark alive by not limiting myself.  I like to say I’m a fantasy writer, a genre I really enjoy reading and writing, but when the idea for Road to Revenge came to me I wrote it anyway.  A thriller set in Jerusalem was way outside my comfort zone, but at the same time I grew as a writer because of it.

What kind of books do you like to read outside of the MM Genre?

I’m a paranormal fantasy nut.

Pick one: Scientist, Astronaut, Retail, or Horse Trainer-

I’m not really a fan of any of those.  Can I choose something else? 

Aside from writing, what else do you enjoy doing?

I take a self-defense course called Krav Maga.  It’s the martial art taught by the Israeli Defense Forces and it’s awesome.  Basically, it teaches a thousand different ways to emasculate a man.  I have fun. 

Any special projects coming out soon we should watch for?

The next big story I have coming out is Paint, Guns, Money, and Love.  It’s about a painter who manages to get mixed up with the mafia, but it’s also a love story.  That’s coming out in serial at LT3 in February. 

I have a short story coming out in November with LT3.  It’s titled The Oracle’s Flame and is about a young man coming into his powers and trying to find and save a prince.  There’s fire and pirates and dragons.  The sequel for this book is also on my to-do list. 

Can you please tell us where we can find you on the Internet?

I am everywhere on the internet!  But the best places to reach me are all the usual suspects. 

My website: http://melleightfiction.weebly.com/

My blog: http://melleightsblog.weebly.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/MellEightFiction

Tumblr: http://www.tumblr.com/blog/mell-eight

Twitter: @MellEight

It was a pleasure having you here with us today. Please come by and let us know how you’re doing from time to time. OH! And before you leave, can I get your help here in the kitchen? Thanks!!

Thank you for having me!  The cookies and tea were great.  I’ll come back any time as long as you’re not asking me to hand wash the dishes. 

Of course not….I just need help watching Charles is all. This way!

dishes

Leave a Reply

