Melting the Ice Witch by Mell Eight


Title: The Dragon’s Hoard, Book 4: Melting the Ice Witch
Author: Mell Eight
Publisher: Less Than Three Press
Pages: 96
Characters: Kam, Lor, and multiple side characters.
POV: Third person
Sub-Genre: Fantasy
Kisses: 3.5


Blurb:

The Tribe of the White Dragon has lived in the frozen wastes of the north for thousands of years, slowly dying without their dragon to protect them from the inhospitable cold. In desperation they kidnap Kam, hoping to use him to breed witch power back into the Tribe. But Kam is not a witch and there is nothing he can do to save them—until he sees the white dragon encased in ice and all alone.

Review:

My immediate reaction on finishing this story was to hunt down Mell Eight’s website so that I could find out more about the previously released books in the series and if there were any more to come. This book was so totally up my alley I was delighted to be given the opportunity to review it.

The focus is definitely on the story. The romance between Kam, the lead character, and his love interest is sweet, though there is not a lot of attention on it. There is little in the way of ‘on screen’ physical love between the lead characters but with the focus being on the story rather than the romance, it is not really missed.

When we meet Kam, he has already been living with the tribe for a few months and vastly prefers it to where they kidnapped him from. Kam is determined to be a useful member of the tribe and has no desire to be made to leave because he cannot contribute. He has been thrust into a life vastly different from the one he knew before but is settling into it very well and making a place for himself–one his gift makes him particularly suitable for. Clever hints are dropped as to what his gift is, though as he is unaware of it himself they are disregarded until things are explained to him. It was a good job too as I was starting to become puzzled… a big ‘ah! So that’s why…’ moment, for me.
The side characters are introduced slowly enough for me to be able to keep up with them and remember who they are even though there are quite a few. Some, from previous stories I have not read yet, stand out vividly and I am very much looking forward to going back and reading the first three books. Tori is adorable and I cannot wait to read more about him!

All in all, a nice little tale which has prompted me and my love of fantasy to look up and read more from this series.

Reviewed By: Violet Joicey-Cowen

BUY LINK

2 Comments

  1. I’ve read this entire series and it has to be one of my favorite m/m fantasy series. Its fun and I wait with anticipation for each book to come out. I’m not sure if there is another on the way but I sure hope there is.

    Like

Leave a Reply

