Welcome, Gabriel Belthir

crescent_logo_slogan

Thank you for taking some down time and spending it with us. Let’s start this off with a beverage. We have coffee, tea, some sort of juice (I think it’s been in here a few weeks) and soda. What would you like?

I’ll take some coffee, thanks. (Zie adds plenty of hazelnut creamer and sugar.)

co

Can you tell us a little bit about yourself?

Well, I’m a stay-at-home spouse, I help run Inkstained Succubus, and I occasionally write sexy people doing sexy things to each other.

When you received news that your manuscript had been accepted by Storm Moon Press, what were the first words that fell from your mouth?

(laughs) I think it was something along the lines of “Holy Flying F***nuts, Batman.” Lily of the Wastelands was my first independently published short story at the time. I’ve had two more accepted at this point, and it still makes me bounce all over the house and get insufferable for the husband for a while.

What forces brought you over to the GLBT Genre? Do you focus on one part of the QUILTBAG or do you write various identities, expressions, or orientations? What made you want to write what you do?

I’ve written all sorts of things at this point. My first short story was a lesbian post-apocalyptic, and the other two are a steampunk M/M slavery and a genderqueer fantasy. I’ve also done a novel with another publisher that was space opera. I’ve got varied tastes, I’d say. As a genderqueer person, I love exploring people’s relationships to other people, regardless of gender. True love doesn’t have a genre.

Would you care for some cookies? We have chocolate chip, peanut butter, oatmeal with or without raisins and a package of mystery ones. We have cake too. Your choice.

Ooh! Cake!

cake

How many hours a day do you spending writing?

I’d say I’m not as dedicated as all that. I’m a frenetic writer. When it’s ready, I’m churning out close to 4,000 words a day. When it’s not ready, I’m plogging away at world-building and other little snippets or doing research, so very little typing at all. Writing, for me, should pour like water.

Do you write right through or do you revise as you go along?

Give and take, really. There’s a method to the madness.

  1. World-building (various sketch writings)
  2. Outlining (Character pieces, voice work, and not nearly as organized as it sounds)
  3. Chapter-by-chapters (Pounding it out)
  4. Mid-to-late plot review (Making sure it works, first content edits about ¾ of the way through)
  5. Doing a little dance when ‘the end’ appears on the page.
  6. Regretting the little dance when running through first round edits before sending to the publisher.
  7. Send!

When it comes to plotting, do you write freely or plan everything in advance?

It’s never so elegant as planning. Writing is like darts. As long as the dartboard is designed, and you know kind of where to go, the characters will head the right direction, give or take. If you cut them out of the process altogether, you miss out on some really interesting things they can come up with.

Of your characters, do you have a favorite and why?

Oh, wow. Every one of my characters has a little of me in them. Most end up talking in my head. I love Evie (Lily of the Wastelands) for her aggressive stance and heroism. Samuel and I have a lot in common (“As You Wish”) in desiring to appear in control and secretly wanting to give it away. And I explored my first genderqueer character in Vesh (“Of All The Days”) and had a lot of fun seeing how it worked out in fantasy.

lilyofthewastelands_ARe

Writers often go on about writer’s block. Do you ever suffer from it, and what measures do you take to get past it?

All the time. Music. Music is the key. If I don’t have my music to inspire little music-videos in my head, I’m usually stuck.

Do you have a particular spot in your house that you call your comfy zone? (The place where you write.)

It’s changed three times, but I’m hoping to get it back to something normal soon.

When you’re in the mindset to write, do you put a sign up that warns others not to disturb you while at work?

Oh, absolutely. Leave me alone! (laughs)

How would you describe your sense of humor? Who and what makes you laugh?

(makes a face) Ooh. The tough questions. Um, I’m not the silly humor kind of person. I like quips and dry humor a lot. I was raised on masterpiece theater, and later on Rowan Atkinson and Eddie Izzard. My favorite funny movie is ‘Noises Off’. Situational humor is good, too, but I’ve never liked ‘chaotic stupid’ gags or embarrassing humor.

What question is your most frequently asked as an author?

I’m not certain I’ve been an author long enough to be asked much at all. I think the most I’ve gotten is “When are you going to write more?”

What are you working on now?

There’s several things in the pipelines. None of them have been water quite yet, but I’m cultivating them carefully.

Writing is obviously not just how you make your living, but your lifestyle as well. What do you do to keep the creative “spark” alive, both in your work and out of it?

I role-play, listen to music, and keep up on current research as best I can.

What kind of books do you like to read outside of the GLBT Genre?

Science-fiction and fantasy, mostly. I don’t see myself as writing sex, I see myself writing exciting adventures with sex in them. As such, I tend to read more mainstream works or other adventure stories. I recently re-read Anne McCaffrey’s Freedom series.

Pick one: Scientist, Astronaut, Retail, or Horse Trainer.

Oh god, Astronaut. Total Astronaut. Gimme a ship and a star to sail her to.

Aside from writing, what else do you enjoy doing?

Camping, Gaming, Graphic Design, and being a fairy Godparent.

Any special projects from you at Storm Moon Press that came out recently or will be coming out soon we should watch for?

Lily‘s been out a while, so I’d probably say to watch for “As You Wish” in the Serve Me anthology. It’s actually the first short I finished, and it’s hot and lovely.

Can you please tell us where we can find you on the Internet?

You can find me at my author-site. It has all the connections to the places I’m active and how to contact me. http://summerjakarta.wix.com/gabrielbelthir

It was a pleasure having you here with us today. Please come by and let us know how you’re doing from time to time. OH! And before you leave, can I get your help here in the kitchen? Thanks!!

Oh, sure. (Picks up a broom)

broom

Leave a Reply

