Cowboy’s Challenge by Susan Laine

Title: Cowboys of Snow Lake, Book 4: Cowboy’s Challenge
Author: Susan Laine
Publisher: Siren Bookstrand Publishing
Pages: 151
Characters: Simon Westfield, Tristan Markham
POV: 3rd
Sub-Genre: Contemporary Romance, Western, Series
Kisses: 5


Simon Westfield is the owner of a stud farm in Wyoming. He’s recently lost his brother in the army, and has become the guardian of two young children, Dale and Allie. After a while, it’s clear he needs help.

Enter Tristan Markham, a professional live-in male nanny, or manny.

Though great with kids, Tristan is as strong-willed as Simon, and their points of view on everything are polar opposites. Where Simon is closeted, reserved, and introverted, Tristan is an out and proud liberal pacifist.

Clashes are inevitable.

But they can’t deny their growing attraction, so a deal is struck. Casual sex only. But when things start to go wrong—Simon’s mother dying of cancer, the kids’ grandparents suing for custody, and Simon being thrust out of the closet—it’s time for them to work together, or lose everything they have.

Because despite their differences, they are a family. And families stick together—no matter what.


Susan Laine
is one of my favorite authors. I’ve read most of her books and I’ve loved every one of them. Ms. Laine has a true gift of writing well-written, likeable men who live and breathe off of the written page.

Who does love a sexy cowboy? Cowboys are portrayed as manly men who sometimes have difficulty revealing their emotions as well as their drive to try to do the right thing. In Cowboy’s Challenge, Simon is faced with the responsibility of raising his young niece and nephew. Although Simon loves these children, he is plagued with doing what is right for them. Since he doesn’t have a lot of experience raising children, he takes the advice of a dear friend and decides to hire a live-in nanny.

What Simon doesn’t expect is for the new nanny to be a very sexy man, who isn’t afraid of speaking his mind and being himself. Although, Simon doesn’t always understand Tristan’s way of raising children, he finds himself learning to compromise and soon discovers that with Tristan’s guidance and support, Simon is very capable of raising these children in a loving, well-adjusted home.

Ever since he can remember, Tristan has had a thing for cowboys. As soon as he meets Simon, he is immediately attracted to him, and even though Simon is stubborn and can be surly at times, Tristan can’t help but see past Simon’s gruffness and into the heart of a man. Tristan likes Simon’s drive to take care of the children and raise them in a healthy, loving environment. Soon, Tristan begins to tear the protective walls that surround Simon’s heart and to his happy surprise, they develop something special between them that Tristan has only dared to dream. But even though the two men begin to fall in love, there are many obstacles between them. Simon is not out to his men and doesn’t want the children to know about his relationship with Tristan and Tristan is soon faced with the fear of Simon possibly losing custody of the children because of their love.

To say that I loved this book is an understatement. I thought Ms. Laine did an excellent job at developing the relationship between Simon and Tristan. Although they seem like polar opposites, they really aren’t. True, they don’t always see things eye to eye, but in the end they want the same thing and are willing to do whatever it takes to achieve it. Between the intense chemistry and true respect and friendship that they had together, I found myself really loving these characters and hoping they would find the happy ending they deserve.

Somehow this series has escaped my notice. Although this is the fourth book in the series, it’s the first book I’ve read in it. I can honestly say that the book is so well written that it’s easily a stand-alone book in the series. Not once, did I feel lost or confused by what was going on. I am looking forward to reading the first three books in the Cowboys of Snow Lake series and can’t wait to see what Ms. Laine has in store for us next!
Highly Recommended!

The Cowboys of Snow Lake books in series order are:

Rivers of Wind
Rivers of Passion
Mending Fences
Cowboy’s Challenge

Reviewed By: Gabbi


1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.