In the Eyes of Crazy by Charlie Richards

Title: Kontra’s Menagerie, Book 9: In the Eyes of Crazy
Author: Charlie Richards
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Pages: 103
Characters: Land Zimmerman, Payson Garcia
POV: 3rd
Sub-Genre: Erotic Romance, Paranormal, Series
Kisses: 4.5


On the Road: Sometimes, the shy quiet type, really aren’t shy or quiet at all.

Payson thought he’d found his mate once, but had been wrong. With his senses screwed up by scientist’s experiments, he no longer trusts them. He sleeps with any nice smelling, willing male—and some females—hoping his hyena will want to keep one of them. He’s shocked and delighted when he and his animal are in agreement over one sexy, nerdy human—Land Zimmerman. The sex is fantastic, Land’s shy virgin playfulness even better, and Payson gives in to his hyena’s urge to mark Land. The next morning, things heat up, and not in a good way. Payson’s jealous hyena attacks a fellow pack-member standing a little too close to Land. Can Payson convince his skittish human that he’s not as crazy as he seems?


I’ve read several books by Ms. Richards and I’ve enjoyed them all. She has an easy style of writing that I appreciate and her characters are always likeable, interesting men. The blurb does an excellent job at describing the story, so I won’t rehash it. Instead, I thought I’d talk about what I liked about this book and why I’d recommend it.

I really liked Payson and Land together. Payson is a hyena shifter who has some issues do to being part of an experiment years ago. I thought he was a very likeable character that was easy to root for. When he meets Land, the connection between them is sizzling hot! I thought these two heroes were well suited together and I enjoyed watching them work through their insecurities and own personal demons to be together. There is plenty of sex, action and romance in The Eyes of Crazy and it’s a great choice if you’re a fan of Ms. Richards or you’re in the mood for a quick, sexy read.

In the Eyes of Crazy is the 9th book in the Kontra’s Menagerie series. Although these stories could easily be read as a stand-alone book, but to fully understand what drives these characters and since they still play a part in all of the stories in some way, I recommend reading these books in order.

The Kontra’s Menagerie books in series order are:

Mutegi’s Sweet One
Catlin’s Appaloosa
Hope for a Buffalo
Dominating the Wolf
Spider Sense
Swimming with Penguins
Giving Perrin Life
Silver Tipped Justice
In the Eyes of Crazy

Reviewed By: Gabbi


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.