The Good Boy by JA Rock and Lisa Henry


Title: The Good Boy
Author: JA Rock, Lisa Henry
Publisher: Loose Id.
Pages: 347
Characters: Lane Moredock, Derek Fields
POV: 3rd
Sub-Genre: Contemporary Romance, BDSM
Kisses: 5+


Blurb:

Introverted college student Lane Moredock is in a bad place. His mother has been arrested for securities fraud, his father is on the run, and everyone, including the SEC, suspects Lane knows where the missing millions are. Lane, with no money and nowhere to live, makes a desperate deal that lands him in trouble and leaves him unwilling to trust a so-called Dom again.

Photographer Derek Fields lost money to the Moredocks, and is as sure as anyone that Lane is guilty despite his claims. A chance meeting with Lane shows him there might be something more to the young man than arrogance and privilege, and Derek wonders if Lane might be just what he’s been looking for: a sub with the potential to be a life partner.

As Lane slowly begins to open up to Derek and explore his needs as a submissive, the investigation closes tighter around him. Lane might be everything that Derek wants, but first Derek needs to trust that Lane is innocent–and Lane needs to trust Derek with the truth.

Review:

Once I read the blurb to, The Good Boy, I knew I had to read it. I’ve read several of JA Rock’s books and loved them all. Ms. Henry is a new author for me, but I still had a feeling that this book was going to be a memorable one. I’m pleased to say I was right! I loved every minute of this well-written story, so much so, I didn’t want it to come to an end! The blurb does an excellent job at describing the story, so I won’t rehash a lot of it. Plus, I don’t want to spoil anything, so I’ll tread lightly on my review. Instead, I thought I’d tell you why I loved this book so much and why I highly recommend it.

Both of the heroes were likeable, well-written characters that really connected with me as a reader. They’ve both been through a lot in their past and are still living with the consequences of Lane’s parents actions. Although both men could easily be bitter about what’s happened to them, they’re not. Both Lane and Derek are determined to work through their past hurts, betrayals and issues and come out stronger in the end.

I loved the intense, emotional connection between Lane and Derek. Not only is there a true respect and friendship that develops between them, I loved watching them fall head over heels for each other. I thought they brought out the best in each other, as well as, learning to truly love, forgive and ended up coming out better men because of their relationship with each other. It’s because of these reasons, The Good Boy reminded me of why I’m totally addicted to reading romances.

The story itself had many interesting twists to it that kept me enthralled with it from start to finish. Once I started reading this book, I didn’t stop until I finished it. So, you might want to allow yourself plenty of time to read before your start it. I liked how Lane and Derek worked through the many obstacles that were thrown their way. I love a strong man and in my opinion, both of these characters truly fit the bill.

If you are a fan of BDSM themed romances, this is definitely a book to consider. I loved the intensity and passion between Lane and Derek and thought each scene they had together was both emotionally driven and steamily sensual. I will say they do push some boundaries in their scenes that might not be every reader’s cup of tea, but I highly enjoyed them. In my opinion, these scenes only enhanced the love and respect they had for each other and although some of might have been unconventional, I still loved them.

The Good Boy is one of my favorite books that I’ve read this year. Both JA Rock and Lisa Henry now have a devoted fan who is anxious to read more stories written by them. Highly Recommended!

Reviewed By: Gabbi

BUY LINK

Leave a Reply

