A Cat on a Hot Tin Roof by Astrid Cooper

Title: Monsters Ink 5: A Cat on a Hot Tin Roof
Author: Astrid Cooper
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Pages: 117
Characters: Kellyn, Alexander
POV: 3rd
Sub-Genre: Fantasy, Paranormal Romance
Kisses: 5




Blurb:

Beauty is not just skin deep.

Kellyn, a lynx shifter, has survived a terrible battle. Horribly disfigured, he arrives on a property in outback South Australia, his memory shattered, along with his beauty. All he knows is that the world on which he is trapped is not safe. He must hide from all humans—except one.

Alexander, an artist recluse, has no time for most people, which is probably just as well, because the guy he rescues isn’t exactly human. Both men deny their immediate, mutual attraction. Alex doesn’t want his heart broken again and Kel believes he has nothing to offer—he’s just a cat with a scarred mind and body.

But a cat has no chance when a human gets under his fur and when Alex tangles with a cat, it’s love at first lick.

Review:

Okay, so I’m officially hooked on this series. I’ve only had the pleasure of reading the last two books in it, and I’ve really enjoyed both of them. When I requested Fangs for the Memories and A Cat on a Hot Tin Roof, I didn’t realize they were part of an ongoing series. I’m not one to read books out of order, but I thought I’d go ahead and give it a shot. I’m really glad I did because the steady world building this author creates and her sexy, likeable heroes will keep me coming back for more.

Since the blurb does an outstanding job of describing the book, I thought I’d talk about why I liked this story so much and why out of the two books I’ve read in the series; it’s my favorite so far.

One thing I really like about this book is: the author doesn’t shy away from making her heroes flawed and imperfect heroes. These two men are not your shrinking violets. They are survivors and strong willed enough to fight for what is right and fight for each other. I like the deeply emotional connection shared between them and the love and respect they have for each other was a lovely thing to read. There is also a lot of action and intrigue to his book, which keeps it moving very quickly and smoothly throughout the storyline. Also, the camaraderie between both of the heroes and the other characters of Monsters Ink was apparent and heartwarming to read.

A Cat on a Hot Tin Roof could definitely be read as a stand-alone book. The author does a great job of keeping the reader informed of what’s going on, so in no way did I feel lost or confused about who is who and who did what. But I will say that I loved this book so much I’m going to go back and read the previous books in the series. There is truly something special about these characters and I’m anxious to see for myself how everything started and also getting to know previous characters up close and personal.

A Cat on a Hot Tin Roof is the fifth book in the Monsters Ink series. Here are the books in series order:

Christmas Creek
Vampire for Hire
The Cat the Vampire Dragged In
Fangs for the Memories
A Cat on a Hot Tin Roof

Reviewed By: Gabbi

BUY LINK

Leave a Reply

