Pearl by Kelly Rand

Title: Pearl
Author: Kelly Rand
Publisher: Storm Moon Press
Pages: 24
Characters: Clark, Edith
POV: 3rd
Sub-Genre: Transgendered, Historical, Romance
Kisses: 5




Blurb:

Edith sleepwalks through a life so normal as to be boring. She lives with her mother, works a mundane job to support them, and makes no waves among the ladies of her sleepy 1920’s Canadian town. Secretly, though, she watches the flappers and so-called “loose women” with envy, dreaming of what glamorous lives they must have. And that’s before Clark walks into her life.

Clark embodies the world that Edith wishes she could be a part of. He’s slick and dangerous and sexy in a way Edith has never experienced. So when Clark offers her a window into his world, she dives through without thinking. On the other side, though, her black and white world explodes into shades of gray, challenging Edith in ways she never imagined.

Review:

Pearl is a fast-paced, interesting and sexy read from the first page to the last word. I was intrigued by the main characters in this book and loved the sizzling chemistry between them. Pearl is set in the 1920’s. During this time many women were repressed and the heroine, Edith, is a prime example of this. Edith longs for more excitement in her life. She’s a young woman who has followed the strict rules that society, and the expectations from her family have given her. But lately, Edith has become very restless. She desires adventure and has her own dreams she wants to be fulfilled.

When the sexy young man, Clark, comes to visit her next door neighbor, Edith is immediately intrigued and attracted to the pretty man. As soon as Edith finds out the attraction she has for Clark is mutual, she is thrilled to have the opportunity to spend time with the young man. But as Edith continues to hang around her potential beau, she begins to suspect there is more to Clark than meets the eye. When Edith discovers the truth about Clark, will she have the courage to follow her heart and take a chance on finding the love of a lifetime?

I LOVED this short story! My only gripe about this book is I truly wish it has been longer. I loved both characters and quickly rallied behind them somehow finding their happy ending together. I liked the mystery and captivation that Edith had for Clark, because I found myself becoming just as intrigued about him as well. I thought the story had a smooth, lyrical flow to it and I would love to read more about these characters in the future.

I admit I haven’t read a lot of transgendered romances, but I thought Pearl was beautifully written and now I’m anxious to read more of this genre. I’ll also be looking out for more books written by Ms. Rand, while I’ll be rereading this book over and over again when I’m craving a sweet, sexy and well-written transgendered romance.

Reviewed By: Gabbi

BUY LINK

Leave a Reply

