Looking to start your week off right? Check out the latest releases from JMS books!


TITLE: Man Under Construction
AUTHOR: R.M. Olivia
ISBN: 9781634860758
GENRE: Gay Erotic Romance
LENGTH: 15,521 words
PRICE: $2.99

PURCHASE EBOOK

After his father’s sudden death, Dominik has to take over as CEO of Under Construction LLC. His personal life is hardly better. Having caught his long-time lover Léon with another man, Dom’s heart is frozen and he has firmly put all men out of his life.

When the need arises to hire a new construction worker, handsome Ian Colbee joins the team. Dom finds Ian way too distracting and tries to distance himself, but Ian is persistent. In the meantime, Léon’s attempts to gain back Dom’s affection begin to escalate.

Can Ian teach Dominik to lighten up and trust again? Will Léon get the message and go on his way quietly?


TITLE: More Than a Suit: Tobie
AUTHOR: J.D. Walker
ISBN: 9781634860628
GENRE: Gay Interracial Erotic Romance
LENGTH: 11,414 words
PRICE: $1.99

PURCHASE EBOOK

Tobie Mendez is driven. He wants to make VP in five years and nothing will distract him from attaining his goal. Except, perhaps, his lust for the hunky new head of the Acquisitions department, Malcolm Jones.

Malcolm is impressed by Tobie’s brilliance and wants to train him for a senior position. Tobie becomes his personal assistant on a promotion track, but Malcolm doesn’t anticipate the attraction that flares between them, and how badly he wants to get Tobie between the sheets. He knows it’s inappropriate, but he can’t help himself.

Finally, after a long trip overseas, Malcolm confesses his attraction to Tobie, who reluctantly admits to feeling the same way. Even though they both know it’s dangerous to become involved, their feelings won’t be denied. Things take a sexy turn, but is the risk to their jobs worth the climax?


TITLE: Premonitions
AUTHOR: Edward Kendrick
ISBN: 9781634860765
GENRE: Gay Thriller Erotic Romance
LENGTH: 36,809 words
PRICE: $3.99

PURCHASE EBOOK

Artist Daniel Chase moves into the house he inherited from his grandfather — with the proviso he must live there or lose it. Soon after, he begins to get premonitions that something isn’t right. Then he meets Griffin Pryce, a handsome man who lives off the grid. They become friends when Griffin agrees to become the subject for one of Daniel’s paintings.

Before that can happen, Daniel’s ex Ray arrives, wanting to partner with Daniel to turn the house into a fancy restaurant. When Daniel says no, Ray sends a man to threaten him if he doesn’t sign the contract Ray has drawn up. Daniel refuses and things go from bad to worse.

With Griffin’s help, can Daniel stop Ray’s machinations? As the attraction between Daniel and Griffin grows stronger, will it — and they — survive what Ray does next?


TITLE: Spy Stuff
AUTHOR: Matthew J. Metzger
ISBN: 9781634860949
GENRE: Gay / Transgender Young Adult Romance
LENGTH: 66,883 words
PRICE: $5.99

PURCHASE EBOOK

Anton never thought anyone would ever want to date him. Everyone knows nobody wants a transgender boyfriend, right? So he’s as shocked as anyone when seemingly-straight Jude Kalinowski asks him out, and doesn’t appear to be joking.

The only problem is … well, Jude doesn’t actually know.

Anton can see how this will play out: Jude is a nice guy, and nice guys finish last. And Anton is transgender, and transgender people don’t get happy endings. If he tells Jude, it might destroy everything.

And if Jude tells anyone else … it will.

Gabbi Reviews: The Heart As He Hears It by AM Arthur


Title: The Heart As He Hears It
Author: A.M. Arthur
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Pages: 234
Characters: Jon Buchanan, Isaac Gregory
POV: 3rd
Sub-Genre: Contemporary Romance, Series
Kisses: 5

Blurb:

Love can slip through the smallest crack in the door.

Perspectives, Book 3

While most of his friends have moved on to “real” careers, Jon Buchanan is content skating through life as a part-time waiter and gay porn star. Firmly single thanks to a previous relationship disaster, he focuses his spare time on Henry, a dear friend dying of cancer.

And with Henry’s happiness paramount, Jon is on a mission to help Henry meet his recently discovered grandson.

Isaac Gregory hasn’t set foot outside for the past year. He has everything he needs delivered, and his remaining family knows better than to visit. When a complete stranger shows up claiming to be his grandfather—with a distractingly handsome younger man in tow—his carefully structured routines are shaken.

Despite his instant attraction, Jon senses Isaac is too fragile for a relationship. Yet tentative friendship grows into genuine companionship. And when Henry’s health begins to fail, they realize Fate brought them together for a reason.


Product Warnings

Product contains a neurotic porn star with body image issues, a virgin hero with severe agoraphobia, and a fluffy ball of gray cuteness you’ll want to take home and cuddle. Also contains references to past abuse some readers might find disturbing.

Review:

Sometimes I am privileged to read a book that really resonates with me as a reader. I admittedly read a lot, so I’m always thrilled when I come across a story that gives me everything I look for in a romance and more.

First, let me warn you…make sure you allow yourself plenty of time to read this book. Why? Because once you start it you’ll be unable to put it down. I was immediately gripped into the thought-provoking story-line and in these characters’ lives. Before I knew it, it was well-passed my bedtime, and I had read the entire book, from start to finish, without interruption. I found myself so caught up within the story these men had to tell and I enjoyed it so much, I truly hated to see it come to an end. This is definitely a well-written, character driven story. Both heroes are definitely flawed, sympathetic characters that go through so much personal and emotional growth, I found myself really becoming invested in the story they had to tell.

Jon is a porn star who enjoys what he does for a living. In his eyes, doing porn is a safe and secure way of having sex. Also, though Jon is a very friendly man, he has a small, secure circle of friends who he totally trusts. Most people do not realize the pain he’s been through or the abuse he has suffered. Though Jon is learning to deal with this pain, sometimes it still haunts him and he slides back onto self-destructive behaviors. *Sorry, no spoilers. You’ll have to read the book to find out what* In many ways, Jon prefers to live in the moment. His best friend, Henry, is dying of cancer and though Jon recognizes this, he has yet to really deal with the implications of losing his best friend and mentor forever. One of Jon’s great qualities was his innate ability to look out for the people that he cares about. Jon is definitely a caregiver, so when Henry wants him to go with him to meet his long-lost grandson, Jon doesn’t hesitate.

When they meet Henry’s grandson, Isaac, Jon’s protective instincts take over because Isaac is pretty much an agoraphobic mess. But, Jon quickly sees the lonely, sweet but frightened man Isaac is, and he is immediately drawn to him. He is thrilled when Isaac seems to surprisingly open up to him and as they continue to get to know each other, both men find themselves opening up to the possibility of sharing something truly special between them.

In a million years, Isaac would have never thought he’d meet and want to trust someone as he does with Jon. Jon doesn’t seem to judge him, instead his unconditional support and friendship draws Isaac into his friendship like a moth to light. Slowly, Isaac find himself craving the friendship and more from Jon, but to do so, Isaac must take a big step and allow Jon into his life and heart.

The Heart As He Hears It is a beautifully written story about the healing power of hope and love. AM Arthur’s characters really touched this reader’s heart and I loved every minute I spent reading it.

The Heart As He Hears It is the third book in the Perspectives series. Somehow, I’ve missed the first two books in the series, but you can bet I will rectify this immediately. I can honestly say that I wasn’t lost while reading this story. I hate not reading books in order, but I can truthfully tell you that this story can definitely be read as a stand-alone in the series. I don’t recommend it because once you read Jon and Isaac’s story, you’ll be back for more.

The Perspectives books in series order are:
The Truth as He Knows It
The World as He Sees It
The Heart as He Hears It

Highly Recommended!

Reviewed By: Gabbi

Click HERE to purchase The Heart As He Hears It

Gabbi’s Reviews: Ocean of Secrets by Jerry Sacher


Title: Ocean of Secrets
Author: Jerry Sacher
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Pages: 200
Characters: Andrew Elliot, Matthew Ahearn
POV: 3rd
Sub-Genre: Historical, Romance
Kisses: 3

Blurb:

Andrew Elliot, the son of a Scottish nobleman, is being sent to America, accompanied by his fiancée and her brother. But Andrew’s engagement is not a love match. His family insists that he marries to “cure” him of his feelings for the son of the caretaker on his father’s estate.

Matthew Ahearn leaves Ireland to pursue his dream of becoming a Texas cowboy. In London, a brush with the law almost derails his plans, but Matthew perseveres and lands a job as a third-class steward on a ship bound for America.

Andrew’s and Matthew’s worlds collide as they—and their secrets—are brought together in the magic of an ocean voyage, one that will never be forgotten.

The year is 1912, and they are about to board RMS Titanic….

Review:

Ocean of Secrets is the first book I’ve read by Jerry Sacher. I thought Mr. Sacher has a real knack for writing compelling characters and I found the story itself to be an interesting one. I admit I’ve always been intrigued by anything that has to do with the RMS Titanic, so I was quite interested in reading this book because I was curious to see how Mr. Sacher would tale the infamous shipwreck.

First, I thought the author did a good job at describing the setting of the book. I could easily visualize the ship itself and the ongoing activities that went on during the characters time on it. It’s very apparent that the author loves the stories and history of the ship, so it was enjoyable reading about the heroes meeting Molly Brown, Captain Smith and so on.

I also liked both of the heroes. Though they seem to be very different men from different stations in life, I thought they had good chemistry together and I enjoyed watching them quickly form a relationship and fall in love.

Sometimes I thought the conversations between the characters were a little stilted at times. Also, though this is the first gay romance I’ve read featuring the Titanic, the story was a little too familiar and it was something that was very predictable at times. There just wasn’t a lot of originality between the two men and the story they had to tell so it fell a little flat for me.

Please don’t get me wrong. Mr. Sacher is obviously a talented writer. There were times I did find myself totally engrossed within the story he told, but in the end I will admit Ocean of Secrets is a good book, just maybe not a memorable one.

Ocean of Secrets will definitely please those readers who love anything Titanic with a happy ending. Between the interesting setting and the story the heroes had to tell, Ocean of Secrets is definitely a pleasurable read and I know there will be many readers who will enjoy it.

Reviewed By: Gabbi

Click HERE to enter the Dreamspinner Press Website

Spend your day reading a HOT New Release from Torquere Press!!

New Releases 4/26/16

One Warlock’s Love Story: Knight and Dae
Shad O. Walker
260 pages / 69000 words
ISBN: 978-1-944449-47-6
PRINT ISBN: 978-1-944449-48-3
$5.49

Buy Link:

http://www.torquerebooks.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=96&products_id=4631

Blurb:

In a world where shape shifters are openly bisexual, vampires have insatiable sex drives, and warlocks emit pheromones that make everyone around them horny, Zander Knight is finally making sense of his new life and family.

Just when it seems like Zander’s life is about to settle down, two new threats emerge. The first is in the form of FBI Agent Jonas Hunt, and the second is a pact of shifter scientists called the Dae. If that weren’t enough, he and Tau are now the primary caregivers of Waverly and Quay’s orphaned baby boy, and some of his closest friends are dead in the middle of working out their own love lives. This is more than just one warlock’s love story – this is a supernatural adventure.

Devoted Alpha
DC Juris
47 pages / 12000 words
ISBN: 978-1-944449-52-0
$2.99

Buy Link:

http://www.torquerebooks.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=202&products_id=4640

Blurb:

Sokel and Sebastian from “Broken Alpha” are back. Sokel has long known his Human mate has harbored certain hidden fantasies and desires, but he’s not the kind of Alpha to demand anything of his omega. One night, a whispered word slips past Sebastian’s lips — daddy. Ever the devoted Alpha, Sokel sets out to help his mate understand that these cravings don’t make him a deviant. But when Sokel visits a fellow healer in an attempt to please his mate, has he gone too far? And will their best friends and housemates, Korden and Rennett, be able to accept this new twist to their lifestyle?


Available for Pre-Order NOW

Use code “preorder15” to receive 15% off any preordered book! Your preordered books will be emailed to you directly on Tuesday evening before the release. Take advantage of getting your books first.

The Spider’s Web
Sophia Beaumont

After being released from a Toronto psych ward, Evie decides that her life needs a drastic change. Moving 500 miles east to stay with her aunt in Montreal, however, is not turning out as expected. Though she loves the city, she can’t outrun the problems that drove her to the edge in the first place.

Recovery might be a little easier if not for Micha. Handsome, kind, always willing to help Evie or cheer her on–and completely invisible to everyone else. He seems to think he’s some kind of guardian angel, and she might need one now that things have gone from bad to just plain weird.

It started with the spiders–ghostly spiders that showed up out of nowhere, swarming over Evie while she was home alone. Then the owls started following her.

Her search of answers dredges up past lives, secret societies, and one very angry goddess. She’s going to need help from some very powerful friends if she wants to make it to her next birthday, but when one of those friends is the goddess of the underworld, she might need more help than a guardian angel can provide.

Releasing 5/4/16 – Available Pre-Order:

http://www.torquerebooks.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=200&products_id=4655

Bad Cops (Laid Series Bk 2)
A.J. Llewellyn

In this explosive sequel to Laid, a series devised by gay porn director John Bruno and written by A.J. Llewellyn, hotshot Los Angeles police Lieutenant Jack Cannon is back in action. With his lover Lucky out of town on assignment, Jack has too much time on his hands and too much aggression to wait patiently at home for him. With a multi-department takedown of a drug and gambling ring exposed in an old LA warehouse, Jack slips inside the ruined, crumbling building for some solo fun…except that a few other cops…and a bad guy or two have the same idea…some guys are just born to be bad…

Author’s Note: Every sex scene in this book was filmed for Massive Studios in a series of webisodes. This edition has been re-edited and considerably expanded from the original version.

Releasing 5/4/16 – Available Pre-Order:

http://www.torquerebooks.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=200&products_id=4662

Fairest
K.S. Trenten

From childhood, her eyes have haunted me. She cursed me at birth, to fall under a sleeping curse. Everyone is afraid of her. Everyone thinks she’s my enemy. Only I can’t think of her as an enemy. There are too many secrets surrounding her, too many silences. Who exactly is she, the dark haired, pale beauty, who haunts the tower, my guardian, and my dreams? What is the truth about her? Is she truly a wicked witch? Or is she just a girl, as cursed as I am? No one wants me to face the truth. No one wants me to look too deeply. I’m not afraid of her, even if I should be. Come with me, as I visit my tower, the enchanted forest, a lonely cottage, and look into a magic mirror. Face my curse, even as I face the spindle in her hands. Sing the words of a magic spell, even as it looms over me, threatening to completely overcome me. For I refuse to afraid of her, even if everyone thinks I should be.

Releasing 5/11/16 – Available Pre-Order:

http://www.torquerebooks.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=200&products_id=4642

Growing Strong
BL Dayhoff

A chance—and embarrassing—encounter brings Hunter and Chase together, but it’s patience and kindness that keep them there. Through a slow-blossoming friendship and a series of misunderstandings, Hunter finds himself fighting an attraction he thinks isn’t returned. But with the help of his roommate, Tony, he may just be able to make the leap and confess his feelings.

But love isn’t Hunter’s only concern. With his sister’s upcoming nuptials, he also must learn to face a family that hasn’t quite disowned him for his sexuality. With Chase by his side, it’s going to take strength for Hunter to stand up for himself and to hold on to what really matters.

Releasing 5/11/16 – Available Pre-Order:

http://www.torquerebooks.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=200&products_id=4660

Theory of Love Anthology
with stories from: Kayla Bashe, Alain Bell, M.D. Grimm, Asta Idonea, DC Juris, Dale Cameron Lowry, Lila Mathews, Charles Payseur, Jessica Payseur, Maia Strong, Lynn Townsend, K.S. Trenten

In Theory of Love, we wave our geek flag high! Tales from deep space, sci-fi realities, technology, academia, and cosplay are brought together in this collection. In Dale Cameron Lowry’s Far From Home, long-distance spouses fan the flames of passion while fighting to save humanity. Meat Space by Lynn Townsend, brings virtual space and the real world crashing into a new reality. Asta Idonea’s Captive shows us that love can form in any manner of situations. Beta Tester by Charles Payseur immerses the reader—and the characters—in a virtual reality that brings a friendship to a whole new level. K.S. Trenten’s A Symposium in Space, love is a different meal to every guest. Unexpected Dilemmas by Jessica Payseur long-distance lovers face hijacking and natural disaster to be together. Kayla Bashe’s Medic to the Hivemind a stranded student is saved by a mysterious voice with secrets. Being Jake by Lila Mathews shows readers that smart is sexy. In D.C. Juris’ Torn Apart, love provides the will to survive. Shattered Space by Alain Bell shows how love can grow from destruction. Maia Strong’s All ‘Ships May Sail connects cosplay, fandoms, and something more. Trash and Treasures by M.D. Grimm gives us a deal made in interstellar space that could be more than either party bargained for.

In theory, love is easy.

All individual stories are also available for pre-order!

Releasing 5/18/16 – Available Pre-Order:

http://www.torquerebooks.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=200&products_id=4659

Passion and Penance
Lana Cordova

Emily Jordan’s life as an English major is about to take an unexpected erogenous turn. In a critical financial pinch, she takes a year off from the university to work as a domestic for the billionaire Blackwood brothers in their lavish Kenilworth estate. She hopes to earn enough money to finish her master’s degree.

She barely arrives when she meets the twin Blackwood brothers who are both instantly attracted to her. Joel relishes in Emily’s every breath. Jackson is the tortured soul for whom passion and penance are synonymous. Joel is a tantric mystic who wants nothing more than to achieve nirvana. Jackson is the dominant brother who shoulders all responsibility for the family’s international industrial contracting and engineering firm. With Joel and Jackson, Emily explores two very different worlds of sensuality under the watchful eye of the abusive head housekeeper who condemns Emily’s every move.

Both brothers have their charms, and Emily finds them attractive, each in his own way. Will she choose passion or penance?

Previously published by Turquoise Morning Press.

Releasing 5/18/16 – Available Pre-Order:

http://www.torquerebooks.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=200&products_id=4658

Blood Visions
L.J. Hamlin

Private detective Ronan Bayne is a former cop who now runs his own agency specializing in all things paranormal. After several women have gone missing, Ronan gets called in by the police chief.

Dustin McPherson is a psychic who’s worked with the police in the past. After having a vision of one of the missing women, he meets Ronan. Together, they must solve a case more complicated than either of them expected.

Releasing 5/25/16 – Available Pre-Order:

http://www.torquerebooks.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=200&products_id=4689

No Place Like Home
DC Juris

Calliph and Mateo are back! The peace of the shifter pair’s calm, quiet life, is shattered by a visit from one of Calliph’s old pack members. Calliph must travel to the town of his birth, Naolassel, to speak on behalf of his twin brother, Rupos, who has been charged with murder. But Calliph’s decision will endanger his beloved kitten…not to mention their relationship. Can Mateo reconcile with who Calliph was–and what he did–during the war, or is the truth of his wolf too much to bear?

Previously published by Noble Romance

Releasing 5/25/16 – Available Pre-Order:

http://www.torquerebooks.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=200&products_id=4657

Cinnamon and Cigarettes
Samantha Kate

Sara Clarke, recent college grad, is sweet, demure, and cautious in all things, but especially romance—until she meets Moira Estrada, a bold amateur pilot and patron at the library where Sara works. Their intimacy blooms rapidly as they share everything from a sudden medical emergency to Christmas with the Estrada family. With her dashing new girlfriend by her side, Sara learns to overcome some of her greatest fears, whether they be acknowledging her own bisexuality, flying across the sky in a Cessna, or falling in love for the first time.

But Sara’s fear of confrontation is harder to conquer. When asked about her relationship, she finds herself lying to her family, pretending to date a man so she can avoid conflict with her straight-laced and image-conscious parents. But her attempts to please everyone cannot last forever and could result in far worse than her parents’ disapproval: she might lose the respect of her new friends at the library, or become estranged from her sister—or, worst of all, Sara might lose the only person she’s ever truly loved.

Releasing 6/1/16 – Available Pre-Order:

http://www.torquerebooks.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=200&products_id=4656

Euphoria (Territories Bk 2)
Scott J. Kramer

The kingdom of Faldoa has thrived under its new queen. Euphoria has changed the land, yet evil lies in wait. During a mission to dispose of the last pieces of the magic mirror, she is attacked by a dark elf assassin using a mysterious box. Taylon, her captain of the Royal Guard is able to fight off the assailant, but not before damage is done to the queen.

Deep in the Territories, a strange prophecy comes forth from the elves, and Council Member Gantha is sent on a mission to find a wizard of races. Little does he know that this little foretelling speaks of resurrection of pure evil.

Taylon, with the help of a local medicine woman, seeks out a cure for the queen’s sickness in the far reaches of the kingdom, while the pieces of the magic mirror cause their own havoc.

Releasing 6/1/16 – Available Pre-Order:

http://www.torquerebooks.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=200&products_id=4663

Becoming Rory
Ashavan Doyon

Rory Graeble returns to college determined to reinvent himself. Too many years have been wasted with masks, but becoming a student leader is a step Rory isn’t sure he’s ready for. A new identity takes more than just a new nickname, and Rory knows he has to take the chances that his old self would never risk. When that chance is a party that ends with an anonymous hot skater’s tongue down his throat and a phone number in his pocket, Rory knows what he has to do.

Danny Smits never expected to see stuffy lit geek Rory Graeble trying to be out, trying to be proud, trying to be… Rory. It’s damned sexy, and too much for the entrepreneurial skater to resist. When Rory calls him back the day after the party, Danny knows Rory has changed. But will Danny’s haunted past deter Rory? Or will Rory embrace the chance to experience everything the closet had stolen away? Danny believes in keeping things real, in a brutal honesty he knows means Rory will run screaming.

But this time Rory isn’t running.

Releasing 6/8/16 – Available Pre-Order:

http://www.torquerebooks.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=200&products_id=4661

Love Off the Radar Collection
A.J. Llewellyn & D.J. Manly

Love off the Radar features fourteen tantalizing, otherworldly tales of love, romance, passion, and mystery, by the best-selling team of A.J. Llewellyn and D.J. Manly. In Chaos, a fallen god looks for love at a truck stop. A young man hovers between love and death in Hardsex. Before Morning is an erotic, romantic, volcanic vampire tale set in Feudal Japan – with a serious twist. Mojo Rising is a scandalous tale of same-sex love set in the South Seas.

D.J. Manly addresses BDSM in Disciplining Baron, and the two authors join forces for the paranormal title story Love off the Radar. Which will kill Mo Dingley first? Love, or a curse? Speaking of curses, Have you ever read the personal journals of a werewolf, or a vampire? Now’s your chance! We’ve also got two very different love stories set in the time of Atlantis, and the sad but sweet Clean Monday, a coming-out story with a surprising hero. There are sexy, spicy tales involving zombies, where boys meet boys and almost…eat them. We have it all because love is love, and can’t always be wrapped up in a neat little bow.

Releasing 6/8/16 – Available Pre-Order:

http://www.torquerebooks.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=200&products_id=4664

Time of Your Life Anthology
with stories from: Erzabet Bishop, Emjay Haze, Chad Brian Henry, DC Juris, Samantha Luce, Megan McFerren and Val Prozorova, Charles Payseur, Jessica Payseur, Janelle Reston, Rob Rosen, Lynn Townsend

The Time of Your Life might slip away if you don’t watch out! Tales from deep space, the open road, reality television, fantasy-academia, and contemporary life are brought together in this collection.

In Jessica Payseur’s “Orbits”, longtime friends-with-benefits meet unexpectedly on a space station and finally sync their technology.

“Warren’s Peace” by Emjay Haze, “Duet” by Megan McFerren and Val Prozorova, and “A Change is Gonna Come” by Rob Rosen take the reader on the road—via a Caribbean cruise ship, the railway system of France, and the California Interstate.

A happy home is the goal, but when Chad Brian Henry gives two happily married men constant drooling and barking in the form of “A Problem Called Travis”, they unhappily realize their aim may not be as true as they thought.

Two authors invite us to weddings! Erzabet Bishop and Lynn Townsend each use humor and surprise, found in the commonplace, to lead the newlywed wives in “First Night” and thetwo grooms-to-be in “Wedding March” todiscover and remember why they went to all this trouble in the first place.

“The Color of Magic”, by Charles Payseur, lets us watch and learn with three university students, who challenge authority to secure the future. In a more typical college setting, a shy roommate and an outgoing roommate delight each other with “A Taste of What’s to Come”, written by Samantha Luce.

Straight off the small screen, “Food Play Extreme”, by Janelle Reston, serves a platter of competition and confidence to three top chefs. And in D.C. Juris’ “A Good Bargain”, age and experience is indeed a good match for youth and beauty.

Don’t ignore the ticking of that clock—it’s time of your life!

All individual stories are also available for pre-order!

Releasing 6/22/16 – Available Pre-Order:

http://www.torquerebooks.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=200&products_id=4677

Lydia Reviews: The Italian Word For Kisses by Matthew Metzger


Title: The Italian Word for Kisses
Author: Matthew J. Metzger
Publisher: JMS Books
Pages: 263
Kisses: 4.5

Blurb:

It’s no secret Tav and Luca are going out. After the accident, it’s also no secret that new kid Jack Collins has a raging case of homophobia, and is not best pleased about having given the kiss of life to a gay guy. Either Luca quits swimming, or Jack is going to make him.

Tav favours the tried-and-true method of knocking Jack’s teeth down his neck, only he can’t really afford another school suspension. Luca favours just ignoring him, only ignoring a penknife being held to your throat at New Year’s Eve is downright stupid.

Thing is, Luca suspects Jack is a victim of something himself. And time is running out for Luca to get through to Jack, before Jack gets rid of him.

Review:

The Italian Word for Kisses is a young adult/coming of age story by Matthew J. Metzger. This story is one that fans are sure to enjoy, and one I have already read a couple of times. The story takes place in England so the slang and the Oxford English is different than the American version of English, but this is one of the things that makes the story interesting to read.

Luca and Tav pull you into their world right away. Normally I prefer stories that allow you to get to know the couple at the same time that they are learning about each other, but in this story Luca and Tav are already a couple and have been for some time. The boys have also made no secret of the fact that they are dating, although some would like to believe otherwise. Just because their family and friends know about them does not mean this is a happy go lucky book.

The author throws a dark topic into the book which really messes everything up for the boys. When Luca is accidentally injured during swim practice one of his team mates ends up doing mouth to mouth. The problem is Jack is homophobic. When ugly things start to happen, Tav and Luca have a difference of opinion on how to handle everything. Unfortunately things get a lot worse before they get better and I started to wonder if this story would end well. I would love to see a follow up written as these two really made an impression.
This is a well done novel that will make the author many new fans. It grabs you from the beginning and you will find yourself reading it all in one sitting. If you have not yet given The Italian Word for Kisses a try, then I strongly suggest that you do.

Reviewed by: Lydia

Click HERE to purchase The Italian Word for Kisses

Gabbi Reviews: X-Factor by Sean Michael


Title: X-Factor
Author: Sean Michael
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Characters: Henry Delliot, Ecco Rasmussen
POV: 3rd
Sub-Genre: Contemporary Romance
Kisses: 3.5

Blurb:

2nd Edition

Game designer Henry Delloit loves his life, his mountain community, his isolated dream home, and the snow. He also loves that the X-treme Games blow into the area for a month every year, bringing with them hundreds of athletes.

Ecco Rasmussen loves boarding. He knows he’ll never make it to the big time, but as long as he can get on his board and go, he doesn’t care. If only his manager, Blake Dobbs, would cut Ecco a break. The man’s possessive and mean, and believes he owns Ecco.

When Henry and Ecco meet at the Branchberry Games, it’s lust at first sight. An injury on Ecco’s qualifying run offers an opportunity to spend quality time together at Henry’s home, away from the crowds and out from under Blake’s thumb.

At this rate, lust might turn into love, but not if they can’t keep their romance hidden from Blake.

First Edition published by Torquere Press, 2010.

Review:

X-Factor by Sean Michael is a sexy read between two heroes that discover the healing powers of unconditional love. This is the second edition of this book and although I have a copy of both editions, I enjoyed this version a lot because it was a tighter, well-edited read.

When it comes to writing sex scenes, Ms. Michael’s knows how to steam up a computer screen. The chemistry between Ecco and Henry was intense and very sexy to watch unfold. I liked how they really seemed to have gotten to know one another both in a physical and emotional way.

When Ecco and Henry first meet, they seemed like total opposites. Ecco is a successful X-treme boarder and has a zest for life. He’s fun and flirty but behind his upbeat persona lies the pain of being in an abusive relationship that he’s been desperately trying to end. On the other hand, Henry is a very successful game designer who is sweet and kind and lives in a remote cabin all alone. Though he spends much time alone, Henry loves to watch the X-treme games and when he spots Ecco he is immediately drawn to his sunny, outgoing personality and his sheer talent at snowboarding.

As the two men meet and get to know each other, it was easy to see how their differences began to merge into things in common. They get to experience and see life in a different way and both heroes easily fall into a loving, strong relationship.

I really liked this book. Ms. Michael’s often writes likeable characters and in X-Factor she doesn’t fail to live up these standards. I could easily see why these two men fell in love and I enjoyed the story they had to tell. As per most of Ms. Michael’s books there is a lot of sex scenes in this one. As I mentioned before, I really enjoyed the chemistry they had, but I can’t help but wish there had been a little less of them and more heart to heart content and conversation between Ecco and Henry.

If you are looking for a quick, sexy read then look no further because X-Factor is the book for you. It’s a satisfyingly sexy book that would be a good choice for a lazy afternoon read.

Reviewed By: Gabbi

Click HERE to enter the Dreamspinner Press Website

Lydia Reviews: Dirty Heart by Rhys Ford


Title: Dirty Heart
Author: Rhys Ford
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Pages: 204
Sub-Genre: Mystery, Suspense, Series
Kisses: 5+

Blurb:

Former LAPD detective Cole McGinnis’s life nearly ended the day his police partner and best friend Ben Pirelli emptied his service weapon into Cole and his then-lover, Rick. Since Ben turned his gun on himself, Cole thought he’d never find out why Ben tried to destroy him.

Years later, Cole has stitched himself back together. Now a private investigator and in love with Jae-Min Kim, a Korean-American photographer he met on a previous case, Cole’s life is back on track—until he discovers Jeff Rollins, a disgraced cop and his first partner, has resurfaced and appears to be working on the wrong side of the law.

As much as Cole’s fought to put the past behind him, he’s soon tangled up in a web of lies, violence, and death. Jeff Rollins is not only trying to kill Cole’s loved ones, he is also scraping open old wounds and long-forgotten memories of the two men Cole loved and lost. Cole is sure Rollins knows why Ben ruined all their lives, but he isn’t looking for answers. Now Cole is caught in a cat-and-mouse game with a cold-blooded killer with the key to not only his past but his future.

Review:

Dirty Heart is the last story in the A Cole McGinnis Mystery series. This is a series that must be read in order so please keep that in mind before reading this review.

Cole’s and Jae-Min’s have put most of their pasts behind them and are happy with the family they have created with Cole’s brothers, sister in law, Bobby, Scarlet, and of course Claudia. Jae-Min is still doing his photography and going to areas that making Cole a little nervous, while Cole’s PI career is going strong, with a little help from Bobby. The love between the two men is as strong as ever, and their passion heats up the pages. So of course you know this means things are about to go to s**t.

Like all the other books in this series, Dirty Heart is full of action right from the start. The mystery that is woven throughout this story is so layered that it will keep you guessing. The secrets that are revealed along the way had me worried for Cole and Jae-Min more than once as I read. And, as fans of this series know the author likes to throw in more than a few OMG moments.

There are several points in the book that I loved. The connection between Cole and Jae-Min is stronger than ever and I loved watching them interact. I also love the relationship that Cole has with Bobby. More than once I found myself laughing when these two were together. One of my favorite parts of Dirty Heart, and in fact the whole series, is the way the author opens each book. I remember reading somewhere that the sign of a good book is when the author hooks you with the first paragraph. Ms. Ford has done that time and time again. After reading Dirty Heart, I don’t think I will look at clowns the same way again.

When I received this book I knew that it was the last in the series. While I hated to see it end I was okay with that fact knowing I could always go back and re-read the series at a later date. However, when I reached the last page I was not as ready to accept the fact that there will be no more books coming. If you have not yet given this series, or the author, a chance I strongly suggest you do so.

Reviewed by: Lydia

Click HERE to enter the Dreamspinner Press Website