Patrick St. James Reviews: The Law of Attraction by Jay Northcote


Title: The Law of Attraction
Author: Jay Northcote
Publisher: Jay Northcote
Length: 125 pages
Characters: Alec, Ed,
Kisses: 5

Blurb:

When a professional relationship turns personal, it’s impossible to resist the law of attraction.

Alec Rowland is a high-flying lawyer in a London firm whose career is his life. He doesn’t have time for relationships and his sexuality is a closely guarded secret. After picking up a cute guy on a Friday night, Alec’s world is rocked to its foundations when his one night stand shows up in the office on Monday morning—as the new temp on his team.

Review:

This is a story which comes true all too often in the real world. Inter-office romances can become quite “sticky,” without question. When I saw this story was set in England, I grabbed it to review having lived there for a small part of my life. Thank God, because otherwise, there are a couple of British phrases that would have made NO sense to me whatsoever!
This is a lovely story about two your men, one older than the other by a short few years, who meet in a pub, and the usual thing happens. The bolder of the two picks up the younger and whisks him off to the nest to be debouched. And a good debouching was had by both. In the morning, the young one is thrown out like yesterday’s trash and resentment is felt by the victim of that shabby treatment.

When Ed, the younger one, reports to his new job on Monday morning, who does he find out is his new boss but his sexual liaison from the weekend? After the initials shock and panic, the two agree to keep their mouths shut, unlike when they were in bed, and keep everything secret. But alas, the best laid plans of mice and men often are want to fail.

A business trip to Scotland sends the two lawyers off to a hotel in Edinburgh to complete legal negotiations and while there, they explore the city and once again each other’s bodies. This leads to the urgent beginnings of a love that is doomed to fail as Ed rejects an offer from Alec for a closeted relationship. Ed is out and proud and will not return to the closet, even for the beautiful Alec. Alec has no choice as his parents are homophobic and he is working towards partnership in the law firm that employs both men, and he has worked his entire life for that moment.

However, fate handles all our destinies and not our own hands or minds. I must confess that the ending of this story brought a tear to my eye as Alec struggles with self-realization, his parents, brother, and fears for his position in the firm, as we as his love for the man who can set him free from it all. The question is, does he take the hand of fate and find freedom?

Highly Recommended!

Reviewed by Patrick St. James

Check out the New Releases and More from Torquere Press!

This weeks specials: Novellas by DC Juris, Emjay Haze & Iyana Jenna available for 20% off! Grab them while you can!

http://www.torquerebooks.com/index.php?main_page=specials
New Releases 2/3/16

Betrayed
DC Juris
97 pages / 28000 words
ISBN: 978-1-944449-28-5
$3.49

Buy Link: http://www.torquerebooks.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=96&products_id=4592

Blurb:

Two years after he lost his soulmate to the war, Faldor still pines for Meldrick. His world is turned upside down when Meldrick appears on his doorstep late one night, seemingly back from the dead. Finally escaped from a prison camp, Meldrick protects a dark secret–one that could rip his rekindled love apart if Faldor ever learned the truth. But the longer they’re together, the more things just don’t add up. What really happened two years ago? How did Meldrick escape the prison camp after so long? Is Meldrick still the man Faldor fell in love with? Can Meldrick reconcile who he has become with who he was, and move beyond his treachery, or will betrayal win?

Previously published by Breathless Press.

Taking a Chance
Emjay Haze
186 pages / 45100 words
ISBN: 978-1-944449-29-2
$4.49

Buy Link: http://www.torquerebooks.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=96&products_id=4593

Blurb:

Recent college graduate, Ethan Moore, flies to San Francisco for a job interview with an advertising firm. That evening, he goes to a gay club where meets a gorgeous man who seduces him, but then leaves his hotel room in the morning with only a note. A few weeks later, Ethan begins his new job and discovers that the man he slept with is his new boss, Chance Harlow. He’s fallen for the playboy, but wants to keep their relationship strictly professional. He’s failing miserably as Ethan keeps succumbing to Chance’s advances.

Ethan is selected to accompany Chance to Bali for a huge account and will be spending ten days at a luxurious resort with the man he’s fallen in love with. Chance has made his intentions known, and he won’t pressure him, but if Ethan doesn’t want him, there are plenty of men who will. Ethan struggles with this until one evening they are in the hot tub with two hot swingers who want to play. Ethan flees after watching Chance make out with one of the men. Will Ethan finally give in to the playboy, or did his actions finally lose him the man he loves.

Where the Heart Belongs
Iyana Jenna
30 pages / 8200 words
$2.49

Buy Link: http://www.torquerebooks.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=96&products_id=4585

Blurb:

His brother slash boyfriend, Drew is leaving him. It makes Zach unaware of his surrounding and a hate-crime psycho takes him off guard. He is kidnapped and tortured. Zach is saved by the FBI and as a surviving witness, he is brought to stay with FBI Agent Eugene Harris.

Gradually, Eugene gets to know Zach. He should have been disgusted, but instead, all he wants is comfort Zach.

Will Zach accept that Drew is not coming back? Will Eugene finally have the gut to tell Zach how he feels?

Available for Pre-Order NOW

Your preordered books will be emailed to you directly on Tuesday evening before the release. Take advantage of getting your books first.
Coming 2/10/16

Pup Love
Kenn Dahll

Brett loves Dave and enjoys being a power bottom to his dominant Master. Although the couple has an open relationship, Brett had not taken advantage of the option until he met Jose and his friend Pedro during an extended business trip. His experimentation with the pair opens his eyes to the pleasure of being dominant, yet he relishes his submissive relationship with Dave. With new experiences under his belt, will Brett be able to embrace his new-found dominance in the presence of his Master?

Releasing 2/10/16 – Available Pre-Order:

http://www.torquerebooks.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=200&products_id=4603

Bubba’s All Night Diner
Kiernan Kelly

Bubba runs a backwater diner that caters to locals and the occasional lost tourist. Jackson is an auditor who stumbles across Bubba’s diner when he attempts to locate the Malvin brothers, who own property Jackson’s employers want. When they discover the Malvin brothers have been murdered, Bubba and Jackson find themselves hunting for the killers while trying to defend themselves from murder charges.

Releasing 2/10/16 – Available Pre-Order:

http://www.torquerebooks.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=200&products_id=4602

Coming 2/17/16

Enslaved Valentine
A.J. Llewellyn and D.J. Manly

It’s been said that all a submissive can do when they are bound and tied, is feel. For former boxer Hamish Murdock, all he’s ever done is feel. Feel bad that is. He never took pleasure from pain until meeting Paul, whom he thinks of as his tikkun, the man who rights all the wrongs in his life. For Paul and Hamish, pain is pleasure in their most secret, private moments. On the outside, they are a normal, devoted couple with successful businesses…

But deep down, theirs is a strict D/s relationship that’s about to be tested in their first BDSM vacation. Paul’s chosen a secret destination for Hamish in their Valentine’s Day long-weekend. Can Hamish handle what Paul has in mind? More importantly, will Paul be able to keep his secret and keep his man under control? Or will their first BDSM voyage be their last?

Previously Published by Stiff Rain Press.

Releasing 2/17/16 – Available Pre-Order:

http://www.torquerebooks.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=200&products_id=4605

Swift’s Temptation
J.R. Loveless

Small town farm boy Fagan Swift moves to New York City to escape the suffocating confines of his hometown and, after nine months of job searching, stumbles on a well-paying position at an escort agency. Once there, he meets the most arrogant, infuriating man he’s ever known, Xavier James. The sparks fly from the very moment they meet, igniting a fire between the two men that blazes out of control.

Too much champagne at the company Christmas party finds Fagan waking up in a stranger’s hotel room. Only his hangover is the least of his worries when he finds that the stranger is none other than Xavier, and a call from his best friend, Trinity, sends him winging towards home when his father ends up in the hospital. Blackmail and lust follow swiftly on Fagan’s heels and he has no choice but to give into Xavier’s demands to be his lover. His father’s life depends on it. Can Fagan survive long enough to untangle the web of blackmail Xavier has woven around him or will it drag his soul down into the darkness threatening to consume him?

Previously published by Silver Publishing.

Releasing 2/17/16 – Available Pre-Order:

http://www.torquerebooks.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=200&products_id=46

Alison Reviews: A Tooth for a Fang by Liv Olteano


Title: A Tooth for a Fang
Author: Liv Olteano
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Length: 216 pages
Characters: Rick Barton & Travis Chandler
POV: First
Sub-Genre: Paranormal Crime
Kisses: 4

Blurb:

Three days. Three dead bodies. One newly turned, broken-hearted lycan tracker to figure out the connection.

The one summer Rick Barton takes a vacation, all hell breaks loose. Running from an abusive relationship leads him into the arms of hard-nosed lycan Travis Chandler, who gives him little choice but to become a lycan too and join the Paranormal Bureau of Investigation. Out of options, Rick joins the weird organization, expecting some two weeks of training and an adjustment period. Tough luck, he doesn’t get either. On his first day, his new partner offers to promote him to field agent if they get mated—less time wasted on training, more time on the field, and considering Rick is the only tracker the Bureau has on hand when a wave of strange murders hits the community, time is of the essence.

Someone’s killing the leaders of the paranormal world and mutilating the bodies. Investigating and tracking clues is enough of a challenge, and Rick must contend with an impatient Council, Travis’s advances, and actually adjusting to being a lycan. Only one thing is certain: Rick’s new life promises plenty of interesting adventures—as long as he can survive.

Review:

“A Tooth for a Fang” is really the story of Rick Barton, a man who was in an abusive relationship with his boss and who eventually said enough. But walking out of the relationship meant he had no home, and no income, either. So he decides to take a holiday, the first in far too many years, to relax and work out his options. A holiday handjob from a gorgeous man results in him being given a choice: become a lycan and join the Paranormal Bureau of Investigation, or live the rest of his life suffering from chronic headaches, nausea, and dizziness. Acknowledging the fact there must be a lot of catches to the new job and transformation, Rick jumps down the rabbit hole. After all, he was trying to work out what to do with his life from here.

I must admit, I really liked the fact that Rick tried to make the best of a bad situation, even as his experience with abuse led to reactions that someone who hadn’t been abused might not have. Rick acknowledged that some of his decisions weren’t good ones even as he made them, yet he still powered through, doing his best to adjust to this new life.

Some people might not like the dubious consent grey areas in the early parts of the book, so I will give fair warning on that, but to be honest, people in bad situations sometime have to decide between dubious and bad choices, and I found this made the story more like real life.

I would recommend “A Tooth for a Fang” for anyone who likes gritty stories about crime, hidden societies, conspiracy theories, survivors of abuse, and romances where both the people in the relationship have to work on their own issues and compromise to find their HEA.

I have read Ms Olteano’s “Sandstorm Heat”, which I have written a review for, and after reading “A Tooth for a Fang”, I then purchased and read the second book in the Leader Murders series and read it. The second book is about secondary characters in the first book, and I enjoyed it as much as I did the first. When and if a third book comes out, I will definitely be buying that, too.

Reviewed By: Alison

Click HERE to enter the Dreamspinner Press homepage.

Gabbi Reviews: A Gentle Kind of Strength by Kendall McKenna


Title: A Gentle Kind of Strength
Author: Kendall McKenna
Publisher: MLR Press
Pages: 186
Characters: Ray Lerner, Damien Federov
POV: 3rd
Sub-Genre: Contemporary Romance
Kisses: 5

Blurb:

A police K9 handler believes he’s lucky when a romance starts with the local veterinarian, but then his canine partner is injured in the line of duty.

Sergeant Ray Lerner is a veteran sheriff’s department K9 handler. Damien Federov is the veterinarian caring for Harley – Ray’s canine partner. When taking a man as a lover, Ray’s always been confident. Around Damien, Ray becomes uncharacteristically shy and tongue-tied. When Damien begins their romance, Ray knows he’s lucky.

His obsession with a past tragedy blinds Ray to everything he has with Damien. When Harley is injured on duty, his life is in Damien’s hands. As Ray sits vigil, he has one final chance to allow Damien in all the way, or risk losing everything important, in a single night.

Review:

To my knowledge, A Gentle Kind of Strength is the first book I’ve read by Kendall McKenna. After reading this beautifully written romance, I plan on reading Ms. McKenna’s back-list of books so I can familiarize myself more with this amazing author’s work.

I love it when to the main characters have a strong emotional and physical connection. When the author is able to make me care about them as a reader, well they’ve got me hooked. I can honestly say from the moment Ray and Damian meet, this reader was immediately captivated by them. Not only do they respect and genuinely like one another, the attraction that sizzled between them had an intensity of longing and passion that practically steamed up my computer screen.

To make things even better…there is Harley. Harley is Ray’s K-9 partner and I totally fell in love with him. As a reader, I enjoyed the relationship between Harley and Ray and I loved that, in the end, it is Harley that ultimately brings them together.

One of the things that blew me away was the descriptive storytelling ability Ms. McKenna has. It was very obvious she is very knowledgeable about K-9 training, police officers and military men. It was easy to visualize how Ray and Harley worked together and what a great team these two partners made.

In the end, this book has a lot of heart. It is easy to fall in love with these characters and root for their happy ending. A Gentle Kind of Strength is a book not to be missed if you are a hopeless romantic like myself.

Highly Recommended!

Reviewed By: Gabbi

Click HERE to purchase A Gentle Kind of Strength by Kendall McKenna

Patrick St. James Reviews: The Hitchhiker Murders by Edward Kendrick


Title: The Hitchhiker Murders
Author: Edward Kendrick
Publisher: JMS Books LLC
Length: 101 Pages
Characters: Brent and Quinn Collins,
Kisses: 4

Blurb:

When married private investigators Brent and Quinn Collins are hired to find Andrew, a young man who has disappeared after heading to Idaho Springs, little do they know they will become embroiled in murder. Two other young men have gone missing under similar circumstances and their bodies found buried in the mountains outside of Denver.

The Collins’ investigations soon bring to light another similarity between the murdered men: they were all slender, effeminate, and gay. After Andrew’s body is discovered, Brent and Quinn think they may know who is responsible for the hitchhiker killings.

But when Quinn goes undercover, he finds himself in much deeper waters than he expected. All they have to do is prove it … without ending up dead themselves.

Review:

This was an interesting read involving the murders of young gay men who hitchhiked their way into the mountains. The author managed to paint a pretty vivid picture of the surroundings and locations where the story takes place. The story is also depressingly real as murders like these targeting gay men in certain parts of the country do take place.

The intrepid private detectives, husbands, were hired by the mother of the missing boy, doggedly try to find the killers of the young man they’ve been hired to fine. Together with the uncle of one of the Collins’, Frank, a local police Detective, the villains are deduced and dealt with.

But the case doesn’t end there as the wife of one of the men seeks revenge. The story is well-thought out and the love between Brent and Quinn is well played. You can feel the love between them which is often missing in male/male romances.

Reviewed by Patrick St. James

Click HERE to purchase The Hitchhiker Murders by Edward Kendrick

Check out the latest from JMS Books!!


TITLE: All a Steer Can Do Is Try
AUTHOR: J.D. Walker
ISBN: 9781634860529
GENRE: Gay Erotic Romance
LENGTH: 11,626 words
PRICE: $1.99
PURCHASE EBOOK

Clifford Ames is almost forty years old, and his ever-patient dog, Bambi Turgelson, is his only friend. Why? Because his egotistical boss and former closeted lover, Lambert Morton takes fiendish pleasure in working him to death, twenty-four-seven. Clifford knows he should leave the company and his unrequited love behind, but he keeps punishing himself by staying and taking the abuse, thinking things will be different, one day.

A wedding invitation from a far-flung cousin gives him the impetus to make a change, even if it’s just for a three-day weekend. Enter Jetson Briscoe, son of the owner of the picturesque resort where the wedding is being held. His own personal Paul Bunyan come to life, Jetson gives Clifford a glimpse of the kind of life he could have, without the stress and crippling headaches and possible ulcer he deals with day-to-day. Will it be enough to make him change?


TITLE: Baggage
AUTHOR: Kim Davis
ISBN: 9781634860352
GENRE: Gay Erotic Romance
LENGTH: 40,835 words
PRICE: $4.99

PURCHASE EBOOK

Patrick Holt is lonely. A bad breakup with his boyfriend has left the forty-year-old ophthalmologist reluctant to get involved with another man. When his neighbor sets him up with her brother-in-law Eric, Patrick prepares himself for disappointment. But Patrick quickly finds himself surprised and charmed by Eric, and Eric, who’s had relationship problems of his own in the past, falls hard and fast for Patrick.

On the outside, Eric seems like a great guy: young and attractive with a promising job as an assistant manager at a Chicago hotel. But Eric has a dark side he and his family are hiding from Patrick. When the truth is finally revealed and Eric’s secrets are exposed, will Patrick be willing to go the distance with Eric? Or will he run as fast as he can from the new man in his life?


TITLE: Love Triangles
AUTHOR: David Connor
ISBN: 9781634860406
GENRE: Gay Interracial Erotic Romance (Multiple Partners)
LENGTH: 10,852 words
PRICE: $1.99

PURCHASE EBOOK

Juan is ready to fall in love. A psychic tells him he will find it with someone who knows him, but also a stranger. When her crystals form a triangle, she tells him that is a sign.

Later Juan finds himself enthralled with two men, Paco and Malcom, who he works with at two different jobs. Though hopeful things will work out with one or the other, he is in for a letdown when he learns neither man is emotionally available. The psychic’s signs continue to haunt him, though. Which man is the one for him?

Or does he have to settle for only one? Can a surprise invitation when things seem particularly hopeless lead to her visions and cryptic pronouncements coming true?


TITLE: Out and Beyond
AUTHOR: Nanisi Barrett D’Arnuk
ISBN: 9781611528602
GENRE: Lesbian Mystery Erotic Romance
LENGTH: 43,147 words
PRICE: $4.99
PURCHASE EBOOK

Cameron Andrews of the Baltimore PD went to prison as part of a deep undercover sting. Having exposed the drug cabal in the prison, she has been released on parole. But before Cam has time to pick up the pieces of her life, the drug ring recruits her to join their operation on the outside.

Since Cam and her handlers don’t know who runs the drug operation, this is a welcome, if unexpected, windfall. The team leaps into action, and soon Cam is learning about the people involved, the manufacturing of the drugs, and the delivery routes.

But things are perilous. Her parole officer starts asking uncomfortable questions, and her relationship with Michael is difficult because, though they are deeply committed to one another, they live in different cities. And when the ring is busted and Cam escapes capture, the suspicions of the gang leaders zero in on Cam.

Can she manage to deflect suspicion and stay undercover before she ends up back in prison … or dead?

Gabbi Reviews: Setting his Owl A-Twitter by Charlie Richards


Title: Wolves of Stone Ridge, Book 33: Setting his Owl A-Twitter
Author: Charlie Richards
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Pages: 106
Characters: Hector and Rocky
POV: 3rd
Sub-Genre: Paranormal, Shifter Romance, Series
Kisses: 3

Blurb:

Out of the Cage: Lifting the spirits of another can lift your own spirits, too.

Hector is fresh out of a cage for the first time in his memory. Learning about the world is exciting and scary, and he looks forward to experiencing life. While out having fun with his flock-mates, Hector runs across a human, Rocky, who smells amazing and makes his Scops owl flutter wildly inside his mind. Except, the guy turns down his request to dance. He learns later that Rocky is a bouncer, so he’s at the bar working. Wanting to catch him either before or after his shift, Hector begins to regularly frequent the club. Unfortunately, that earns him the reputation of being a party-boy, which causes Rocky to keep his distance. The human claims he has responsibilities which a partier wouldn’t understand. How can Hector, so new to freedom, convince Rocky that he can handle responsibility when the human won’t even tell him what it is?

Review:

Setting His Owl A-Twitter by Charlie Richards is a sweet and sexy addition to the Wolves of Stoneridge series. Ms. Richards has a true knack of writing interesting characters with fast paced stories that are nothing short of being guilty pleasures.

One of the things I liked about this book was Hector. Hector is an owl shifter who has been abused most of his life. He’s innocent and sweet and as I learned more about him, his angelic sweetness really pulled at my heartstrings as a reader. When Hector meets Rocky, he’s immediately drawn to the handsome man because all of his instincts tell him that Rocky is Hector’s mate. Rocky is a good guy. He was an easy man to like and I understood why Hector was so enamored with him.

As sweet as this story was I guess I as I read it, I felt like I was missing something. Please don’t get me wrong, this is classic Charlie Richards and those who love her stories will definitely like this book, but I couldn’t help but wish there was something more between the two characters. I know shifter stories have a fast-love-conquers all storyline, but I really, really wish their relationship had moved at a slower pace and would have loved watching something richer develop between them. I thought the story was too washed over in places and although Hector was adorable, he wasn’t cute enough for me to truly love this story as I have so many of her others.

Setting His Owl A-Twitter
is a good story, it’s just not one of my favorites by her. I’m definitely looking forward to reading more by Ms. Richards and I can recommend this book to those who love this series and author as well.

Reviewed By: Gabbi

Click HERE to buy Setting his Owl A-Twitter