Six Numbers by Wayne Mansfield


Title: Six Numbers
Author: Wayne Mansfield
Publisher: JMS Books
Pages: 81
Genre: Contemporary • Erotic Romance • Fiction
Kisses: 4



Blurb:

Benjamin is Mr. Average, but has big dreams. Every week he buys two lottery tickets in the hope of striking it rich. So imagine his surprise when, one Saturday night, his numbers finally come up.

Ten million dollars transforms his life. He buys his dream house and outfits it with every beautiful thing he has ever wanted, complete with a real British butler. He also donates to animal charities and adopts Sasha, an abused dog. Yet with everything perfect, Ben soon feels unsatisfied.

On one of his nightly walks, he stumbles onto a local hook-up spot. Soon he becomes a regular customer, seeking quick and dirty sex with random strangers to provide the exhilaration he craves. But when he’s attacked by a gay basher, he realizes this isn’t the life he wants to lead, and packs up everything to move to the countryside.

Settling into a simpler life on a small farm, Ben hires the rough and ready Mick to help run the place. The two men become good friends — Ben is attracted to Mick, but Mick appears to be straight, though curious about gay sex. But when Ben almost dies in an accident, the simmering attraction between the two comes to fruition.


Review:

Ben is a very lonely person, he has fought depression and has mostly won, but he still is uncomfortable being around people.

He starts engaging in very risky behavior and a terrible tragedy results from it, so he decides to sell his new home and move to where it is more quiet and rural.

I like straight Mick, he is his new handy man and these two become friends. After Ben has a mishap and is hurt, Mick steps up to the plate and seduces Ben and confesses he has feelings for him.

This story has no great highs or lows, it made me sad at one point, and was without a lot of drama or mind blowing sex.

I would recommend it if you are looking for a nice read without a lot of angst.

Reviewed by: Cheryl

BUY LINK

Leave a comment

Filed under JMS Books, Wayne Mansfield

Win a Copy of Dark Sun and Rising Sun by M.J. O’Shea

M.J. O’Shea is giving away copies of both Dark Sun and Rising Sun! Read on to see how to enter the contest to win :)

Good Luck!

MJ O’Shea Rising Sun Blog Tour
4/9/2014 The Blog of Sid Love
4/10/2014 Boys in our Books
4/10/2014 Michael Rupured
4/15/2014 Literary Nymphs Hot List
4/15/2014 Gay List Book Reviews
4/16/2014 MamaKitty Reviews
4/18/2014 MM Good Book Reviews
4/21/2014 Fallen Angel Reviews
4/22/2014 Top2Bottom
4/25/2014 The Novel Approach

Rafflecopter giveaway:
MJ is giving away a copy of Dark Sun and Rising Sun at the end of the tour

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Want to know more about Rising Sun? Check it out!

Rising Sun (sequel to Dark Sun)
Author: MJ O’Shea
Publisher: Loose Id
Genre: Sci-Fi M/M
Release Date: April 8, 2014

http://www.loose-id.com/rising-sun.html

New Seattle 2199

Castor Kovalenko, socialite and high ranking member of the Dragon Triad, is worried about his cousin, Lynx. He’s been missing for weeks and there have been rumors circling the city, rumors that he’s been taken hostage by the hacker thief Yoru Katana. Castor needs to find his cousin before it’s too late. He’s willing to do nearly anything to bring Lynx to safety.
Jaffa Sharp is trying to stay alive. It’s not easy when the only thing you’ve ever learned to do is steal. Even harder when he keeps running into one annoying Dragon prince who keeps trying to get him arrested.

When Castor uses Jaffa to get to his cousin and the thief Katana, they both learn that nothing is as it seemed, including Lynx and Katana himself. Castor and Jaffa soon become involved in a plot to take the city back from the villainous triads. They find themselves fighting the people they thought were their leaders — and fighting an attraction stronger than either of them have felt before. Nothing is certain in the precarious new world they find themselves in: Life, death, friend, enemy, and the most uncertain thing of all…love

1 Comment

Filed under M.J. O'Shea

Please Welcome the Amazing, M.J. O’Shea!!

Please welcome the amazing, M.J. O’Shea!! We’re thrilled you’re here!!

Thank you for taking some down time and spending it with us. Let’s start this off with a beverage. We have coffee, tea, some sort of juice (I think it’s been in here a few weeks) and soda. What would you like?

Haha I think I’ll take my chances with the juice! Hopefully It’s not too old:)

No guarantees…lol.

Can you tell us a little bit about yourself?

Hmm, let’s see. I write for a living (obviously) live in Washington, I’m not married but I do have two dogs:) I love going places and I haven’t traveled nearly enough. Other than home, Hawaii is my favorite place, so far at least, and I get there as often as I can. Music was my first love, I love painting, and I used to teach middle school!

When you received news that your manuscript had been accepted what were the first words that fell from your mouth?

You know, it was a while ago for the first one but I think some version of “holy shit!” happened haha. It’s always really exciting when my editors accept a pitch that I’ve put together, though. I always wonder if they’re going to like my idea, and even if they did like the idea, if they’ll still like the book when I’m done with it.

What forces brought you over to the MM Genre and what made you want to write it?

Originally, it was an experiment. I liked reading it, and I thought, hey I wonder if I can write this? So I tried, and tossed a few rotten apples away before I managed to write the one that eventually got me a contract (Unintended). That was back in spring of 2010 and I’ve been going ever since!

Would you care for some cookies? We have chocolate chip, peanut butter, oatmeal with or without raisins and a package of mystery ones. We have cake too. Your choice.

Oh, no thanks! Unless they’re gluten free I probably shouldn’t. :(

No problem, MJ! My sister is on a gluten free diet, so we always have gluten free chocolate chip cookies around. ;)

How many hours a day do you spending writing?

It depends really. Some days I’m rocking along and I spend quite a few hours. Other days it’s more editing and other paperwork type aspects of the job.

Do you write right through or do you revise as you go along?

I tend to write a chapter at a time and revise until I get to the end, then go through and revise a few times after it’s done.

When it comes to plotting, do you write freely or plan everything in advance?

I’m definitely an outliner. I find it really helps me to be more creative if I can think through the plot on an outline, add fun details, plan foreshadowing and character growth that way. I’ve written books freely before and they ended up feeling less complete at the end.

Of your characters do you have a favorite and why?

I do and it’s probably still Nick Ventura from the Lucky Moon books with a second place tie of Candy Scoop from Catch My Breath (which was the voice of a tabloid and written in article/press release form). Both of them pushed me to write in ways that are polar opposite from my own voice, and ended up being really fun because of it.

Writers often go on about writer’s block. Do you ever suffer from it, and what measures do you take to get past it?

I do! I didn’t get much done in 2013 at all. I think honestly the best thing for me at least isn’t to have a bunch of rituals that I need to follow to get into the right place, the best thing for me to do is just DO it. A lot of times, the stuff that I write in those times gets rewritten, but it’s the force that gets the ball rolling.

Do you have a particular spot in your house that you call your comfy zone? (The place where you write.)

I tend to write either in my office or out on my deck on my laptop when it’s nice. I like my big computer better but it also comes with quite a few more distractions!

When you’re in the mindset to write, do you put a sign up that warns others not to disturb you while at work?

Nah, I have my own house so that’s not really a problem. Although people do tend to stop by right when I’m getting into a scene if I write during the day, haha. Maybe I should put a sign up!

How would you describe your sense of humor? Who and what makes you laugh?

I tend to have a sarcastic sense of humor. I like wordplay and clever banter. I guess I really like British humor (Fierce Creatures is one of my all time favorite comedies).

What is the most frequently asked MJ O’Shea question?

Hmmm, usually it’s about sequels… and the answer is usually I have no idea:) It took me quite a while to write Rising Sun after Dark Sun came out in 2011. I’m glad I finally did though!

What kind of books do you like to read outside of the MM Genre?

I really like sci-fi, fantasy, and YA. I tend not to read a lot of romance outside of MM, and I love a good conspiracy book.

Pick one: Scientist, Astronaut, Retail, or Horse Trainer-

Probably horse trainer? LOL. I couldn’t imagine myself doing any of those.

Aside from writing, what else do you enjoy doing?

Tons of things:) Like I said music was my first love and I play a few instruments, I love to paint. It helps me think, and I really like to dance. I tend to go on a couple of long walks every day and when I’m in shape I like kickboxing. That’s not right now, though haha.

Any special projects coming out soon we should watch for?
I actually have a really full schedule coming up in 2014/2015. I laid it all out on my blog back in February, and I’ve added to it since!

Here’s my original schedule for anyone who’s curious: http://mjoshea.com/2014/02/14/coming-soon-from-mj-oshea/

And then Poppy Dennison and I came up with a really fun series of novellas that we pitched to Wilde City called Coconut Cove, which is about a gay teen drama, its cast and crew members and all the juicy drama that goes along with anything scandalous in Hollywood:)

Can you please tell us where we can find you on the Internet?

Website: http://mjoshea.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/mj.oshea.5
Twitter: https://twitter.com/MjOsheaSeattle
Instagram: http://instagram.com/mjosheaseattle

It was a pleasure having you here with us today. Please come by and let us know how you’re doing from time to time. OH! And before you leave, can I get your help here in the kitchen? Thanks!!

Thank you for having me!!

xoxo

MJ

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Woo Hoo! M.J. O’Shea has stopped by today for her Rising Sun blog tour!


I’m Mj O’Shea, author of erotic romance–well all sorts of romance actually, that’s just what’s been published so far!

I grew up, and still live, in sunny Washington state and while I love to visit other places, I can’t imagine calling anywhere else home.
I spent my childhood writing stories. Sometime in my early teens, the stories turned to romance. Most of those were about me, my friends, and our favorite tv stars. Hopefully, I’ve come a long way since then…

Right now, I have four books published through Republica Press (click on the link to visit their site), but I’m constantly working on new projects.

When I’m not writing, I love to play the piano and cook and paint pictures…and of course read. It’s nearly impossible to work on my own writing when I’ve gotten myself hooked into a great new book:) I like sparkly girly girl things, own at least twenty different colored headbands, and I have a little white dog with a ginger eye spot who sits with me when I write. Sometimes she comes up with ideas for me too…when she’s not napping.

Website http://mjoshea.com/
Facebook https://www.facebook.com/mj.oshea.5
Twitter https://twitter.com/mjosheaseattle
Goodreads http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/3512511.M_J_O_Shea

Leave a comment

Filed under M.J. O'Shea

Submission Call from Ai Press!

Check it out!

Submission call: high quality m/m romances in all subgenres and lengths. A short synopsis including story to the end as well as heat/ kink level explanation and first chapter welcome. Email to sedonia.guillone@gmail.com. Terms: Monthly payments of 50% e-book (including webstore and all resellers) and 10% trade paperback, NO options clause in contract. Compassionate business philosophy. If you would like to see the webstore: http://www.ai-press.net

Thanks!

Leave a comment

Filed under AI Press

Hungry for Love by Rick R. Reed


Title: Hungry For Love
Author: Rick R. Reed
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Pages: 196
Kisses: 4




Blurb:

Nate Tippie and Brandon Wilde are gay, single, and both hoping to meet that special man, even though fate has not yet delivered him to their doorstep. Nate’s sister, Hannah, and her kooky best friend, Marilyn, are about to help fate with that task by creating a profile on the gay dating site, OpenHeartOpenMind. The two women are only exploring, but when they need a face and body for the persona they create, they use Nate as the model.

When Brandon comes across the false profile, he falls for the guy he sees online. Keeping up the charade, Hannah begins corresponding with him, posing as Nate. Real complications begin when Brandon wants to meet Nate, but Nate doesn’t even know he’s being used in the online dating ruse. Hannah and Marilyn concoct another story and send Nate out to let the guy down gently. But when Nate and Brandon meet, the two men feel an instant and powerful pull toward each other. Cupid seems to have shot his bow, but how do Nate and Brandon climb out from under a mountain of deceit without letting go of their chance at love?

Review:

For those of us perfectly flawed individuals who say they are willing to try anything to find our perfect partner will enjoy this story of these boys brave enough to follow through on this concept. Brandan is nearing 30 and discovering that he wants more. More than a fling, more than a one night stand, more than a friendship with benefits. He wants the whole relationship but is struggling to find someone to take the jump with him in his life. Enter Internet dating, meddling ladies, mistaken identity, confused agendas and the adventure begins!!!

The budding relationship between Nate and Brandan is well structured well-paced and I found myself totally invested in them overcoming all the speed bumps to get their “happy ever after”. I loved them as characters both so very different, but warm and engaging, but so right for each other.

Rarely, if ever, do I find myself disliking any character in books I read. There is always something to discover about them, some quirk of character, that I can latch onto and develop if not at least a semblance of likeability or tolerance for. This was a struggle for me with the two main female characters, especially Marilyn. She was so full on and out there that in the end I wasn’t sure if I didn’t really like her because she was too much like me or because I wish I was more confident like she is!!!

Nate’s sister, Hannah, grew on me as her story unfolded, but Marilyn was just a bit too full on and out there for me to really embrace. This makes this review quite tough because if these women were so strongly written and developed that I felt I should like them. I felt like I had disappointed the author and myself by not actually liking them. But this is not their story. It is Brandon’s story. It is Nate’s story. The girls exist as part of their story but are not the focus of it so nor should they be the focus of this review.

I loved the imagery that Rick Reed created with his words. I loved the strength of the characters he created, whether I liked them or not!! This story is beautifully crafted and builds charmingly to its climax.

We could learn a little something from this book; to be true to ourselves, to believe we are worthy of all we dream of and to follow through with ideas and dreams. If we do this maybe, just maybe, we will find our own happy ending.

Reviewed by: Jacks

BUY LINK

Leave a comment

Filed under Dreamspinner, Rick Reed

His Fair Lady by Kimberly Gardner


Title: His Fair Lady
Author: Kimberly Gardner
Publisher: Loose Id.
Pages: 197
Genre: Transgender, New Adult, Contemporary
Kisses: 4




Blurb:

Mark Talleo is something of a dog with the ladies. Any girl, anytime, anywhere is his motto until he meets Josie Frazier. The long lean redhead not only shares his love of musical theatre, but her smoky sexy voice and infectious laugh drive Mark wild and haunt his every step. Equally fascinating is his sense that she has a secret, one he is determined to uncover on his way to becoming her leading man.

Josie does have a secret, one she guards with her whole self. Although she has always known she was female, her name used to be Joey and, biologically, she is still male. As much as she yearns for love and acceptance, her fear of rejection is just as strong.

Mark’s need to know the truth is matched only by Josie’s need to hide it. But when malicious gossip reveals her deepest secret the price of honesty may turn out to be too high to pay. But if each can accept that the woman he wants is the woman she is then at last he may find His Fair Lady.

Review:

His Fair Lady by Kimberly Gardner is a well written story that I enjoyed from first to last page.

Josie is a gentle soul who has always known that she is a girl, and her wonderful parents have always allowed her to live her truth.

Mark is also a wonderful person. He has always stood up for the rights of any person to be allowed to be who you are, and not to be bullied for it.

When Mark first sees Josie he is instantly attracted to this beautiful, sweet girl.

Josie has a great support team around her. Kyle, her best friend, and roommate has always known she’s a trans girl, and he will protect her from anyone who will seek to hurt her, even if it’s Mark.

Untruths and omissions have a way of coming out usually in a ugly way and Mark feels lied to and hurt that Josie wasn’t honest with him.

This a great story to read; especially if you’re interested in reading a Transgender themed book, but haven’t.

I loved catching up with Chris and Kevin from Almost Heaven. He is Mark’s brother, with his lovely boyfriend. I would easily recommend these two books. Also, I would like to put a plug in for Kyle’s story to be told in the near future. He sure deserves his HEA!

Reviewed by: Cheryl

BUY LINK

Leave a comment

Filed under Kimberly Gardner, Loose ID